Banana Cinnamon Oatmeal

I have been on the mission for awhile to find the perfect preworkout breakfast for me.  I wanted something that tasted good and had the perfect blend of protein and carbohydrates.   After a lot of research and experimenting, I think I finally found the perfect recipe that works for me.  

What’s amazing about this recipe is it can be very easily adjusted to any liking.  Just play around with it a bit until it fits your needs best.  

You’re going to need the following:

     1. 1/2 cup egg whites

     2. 1/2 cup water

     3. 2 tsp chia seeds

     4. 1/2 cup oats (not instant)

     5. 1/2 banana (optional)

     6. about 1 tsp cinnamon (optional)

     7. about 1 tsp flax seed (optional)

Image

 

First you want to ground your flax seed is you plan on using them.  Grounding aids in digestion and allows all the nutrients to be released.

Image

 

Next, you want to combine the chia seeds, oats, egg whites, and water.  You can let these sit for a bit so the chia seeds can soak up the liquid, but it’s not necessary.

Image

 

Now comes the part that takes a bit of attention.  Microwaving.  I personally like my oats thicker, but I know some people prefer them runny.  Microwave them one minute at a time, stirring in between.  Make sure you’re watching the oats while they are cooking though because I’ve left the room before and the result was my oats taking in too much air and exploding.  Not good.  

I like to slice my banana and then microwave it between 30 seconds to a minute.  That way the natural sugars are released, so I don’t need to use any sugar or sweeteners.  You can add some if you feel it still needs it though.  

Top your oatmeal with any toppings you want.  You can add any fruit, nuts, nut butter, etc.  It’s all based on preference.  

 

 

IMG_0865

Leave a Reply

