Blueberries and Cream Oatmeal

“Berries and cream, berries and cream.” 

For some reason when I woke up today, this kept going through my head.  Weird I know.  This really inspired me though.  To create an oatmeal that’s super healthy, but has the same guilty pleasure as having just that.  Berries and cream.  

Now when you think berries, you probably think strawberries or blueberries, which are already very healthy.  When you think cream though, that’s a completely different story, and that was my challenge.  

I wasn’t about to add a high fat, high calorie heavy cream to my morning oatmeal.  Especially right before working out.  That just didn’t seem like the best idea to me.  I needed an alternative. 

I proceeded to look through my pantry for inspiration, when all of the sudden my eyes stopped at my vanilla protein powder.  I knew I was onto something.  

Recently, I had been doing a lot of research on making protein fluff, so I knew it had the ability to hold a thicker consistency.  Water may have been able to do it, but I knew that wouldn’t give me that “guilty pleasure” creaminess I was searching for.  

Next, I went to my fridge.  Right in front of me was the answer to my problems.  Coconut milk.  Thicker than the almond milk that I also had on hand, but still relatively good for you.  Jackpot. 

To make the cream, I mixed:

     1. half a scoop of protein powder

     2. 1 to 2 tsps coconut milk

This can be adjusted to your preference of consistency

Image

I then proceeded to microwave the mix for about ten seconds.  Just because I was really cold.  This step is optional.

Finally, it was time to assemble my creation.  I mixed in some cinnamon with my basic oats, and then topped with the cream and blueberries.  (Use fresh if possible, unfortunately all I had were frozen blueberries).  

ImageThis is seriously an amazing recipe, and is extremely healthy for you.  It tastes of sinful “berries and cream,” but if anything, it gives your body the start that in needs every morning.  Especially because breakfast IS the most important meal of the day.  

Note: Feel free to add any sweetener you would like.  You can also increase the amount of cream you make.  I just knew I would be making a protein shake in a few hours, so I didn’t want a protein overload.  

 

Leave a Reply

