Cranberry-Orange Oatmeal

So I have to admit to something…

 

I went overboard with buying cranberries this year.  I just couldn’t help myself… two bags for 5 bucks? Score!! Or so I thought.  I PROMISED myself when I bought those bags that I would immediately use them and make amazing things out of them.  Well somehow time got the best of me, and I was left with bags and bags of fresh cranberries :(.

I needed a solution.  

The problem with cranberries is they just do not taste good at all straight from the bag.  (Yes, I’ve tried).  You need to somehow bake them or add them into something for them to be good.  

Unfortunately, two problems presented themselves.

1. I overdid baking during the holidays… I need a break from baked goods.  and 2. I HAVE NO KITCHEN TO COOK IN!!! (7 weeks of reconstruction… lucky me…)

What was I going to do with with all these cranberries??

Just from my past posts, you could probably come to the conclusion that I have been on an oatmeal kick lately.  Sooooo what was my solution?

Yup… oatmeal 🙂

Okay… next question.  What goes good with cranberries?

Well orange obviously, and lucky for me there was one orange left in the house, so I hid it in the morning to work with later.

I was all set… for now.

So my day went on, I went to work as usual, and when I came home, I was ready to begin assembling my oatmeal to sit overnight. 

I think today’s just a bad luck day for me because apparently my brother FOUND the orange I HID and ate it…. 

My family never fails to shock me…

Well, it was too late to go to the store, but I still wanted to finish out this experiment.  So I went back to the cupboard.

What I did find were mandarin oranges (canned), and orange juice.  Although this wasn’t my original and best option, I knew it was the best I could do.

So here is the recipe:

     1. 1/3 cups oats

     2. 1/2 cups water

     3. 1/4 cups orange juice (fresh would be preferred…)

     4. Mandarin orange or orange slices

     5. 1 1/2 tsps chia seeds

     6. cinnamon (like always 🙂 )

     7. 1/2 cup fresh cranberries (dried if you don’t like the tartness of fresh, but that’s what I love         about cranberries)Image

Okay so the night before.  Microwave your cranberries between 30 seconds to a minute.  This will soften them so they are edible.  Then refrigerate to let flavors develop.  (Can microwave again in the morning to warm up a bit if desired).  I also portioned out the oranges I wanted, just so I would have them easily available. 

Image

 

At this time, also combine the liquids, chia seeds, and oats.  

Image

 

You don’t HAVE to do this the night before.  I just wanted to let the chia seeds absorb some of the liquid.  That’s up to preference though.

Once you’re ready to assemble, cook the oats.  These took me about 4 minutes in my microwave to get the correct consistency for me.

Then, I sprinkled with cinnamon, heated up my cranberries a bit, and placed them and the oranges on top of my oatmeal.  

Image

 

I seriously cannot express how amazing this is.  It doesn’t taste like any oatmeal I have tried before.  It’s sweet because of the oranges, but tart because of the cranberries.  These really couldn’t compliment each other any better.

I really highly recommend you try this, especially if you’re looking for a new twist on your everyday breakfast.  It’s extremely healthy for you, and it’s very easy to make.  Plus, it’s adjustable to any taste! Foolproof 🙂 

Leave a Reply

