Pina Colada Oatmeal

It is 5:30am, and I must say I am quite content sitting here by the fireplace typing this up.

Image

 

Okay back on topic 🙂

Lately I’ve been in some weird summer mode.  Emphasis on weird especially because it’s been in the single digits here lately… 

Well, since I can’t get my summer fix outside, I figured what better way than to start my day with something tropical.

This past summer, I spent a lot of time at the beach.  This one beach I went to had a section where the employees would come up to you, and you could order drinks.  (Cool right?).

In my group of friends, the hands down favorite definitely seemed to be the pina colada.  

Ever since, this drink has made me think of the beach and warm weather.  

For this reason, I came to the conclusion that I should make an oatmeal representing the pina colada. 

Now I KNOW there are many people out there who aren’t fans of coconut.  Why? I have absolutely no idea because in my opinion, coconut is one of the best flavors out there.  (Seriously though, I even bought my own coconut once and tried to open it… not as easy as it looks let me tell you).  

I think most people don’t like the texture of the coconut.  That’s because they are probably used to trying the processed, bagged, sweetened variety, which is really quite chewy.  That’s why I prefer to buy the unsweetened organic version.  It’s grated a lot finer, but still has the coconut taste. 

That’s what I used in this recipe:

     1. 1/8 cup coconut milk

     2. 1/8 cup egg whites

     3. 1/2 cup water

     4. 1 1/2 tsp chia seeds

     5. 1/3 cup oats

     6. 1 tbsp coconut butter (see note)

     7. 1/2 tsp coconut extract

     8. 1 tbsp unsweetened coconut

     9. fresh pineapple (and I mean it FRESH pineapple.  Seriously buy your own pineapple and cut it up.  The flavor is indescribable, and it’s actually quite easy to cut up).

NOTE: Either you can buy coconut butter or what i did was grind 1 tbsp of coconut until i could form it into a paste, then I mixed it in with a little bit of water, put it in the microwave for a few seconds, topped it on the oats, and let it harden overnight in the fridge.

Image

 

Okay, now it’s time to assemble.  I recommend doing this the night before so the coconut butter really has time to set, and the coconut extract can really develop.  

Combine your oats, water, coconut milk, egg whites, chia seeds, and coconut extract.  Top with coconut butter, and set in the fridge overnight.

When set, stir everything together.

Image

 

Microwave until desired consistency, and then top with pineapple and unsweetened coconut.

After doing this, I threw it back in the microwave for another 15 seconds just so the pineapple’s temperature could match the oatmeal.  This is optional though

This really has the perfect balance between coconut and pineapple tastes.  Even if you aren’t the biggest fan of coconut, I really recommend trying this.  It’s that good.

Image

One thought on “Pina Colada Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Pina Colada Overnight Oats | Healthy Revelations

Leave a Reply

