Why Chia Seeds?

So you may have noticed that almost all of my recipes contain chia seeds.

Many people only know of these from the commercial “ch ch ch chia.”  Little do they know chia seeds are actually a super food!

Now, it’s one thing just to state something is a super food, but especially with something as unknown as chia seeds, I think it’s important to also explain why.  Honestly, I don’t think it’s possible for me to state every single benefit to chia seeds, but I’ll list which ones I think you’ll be most interested to know.

Okay, let’s just get something straight before we dive into this…. what are chia seeds?

They’re actually a member of the MINT family.  Weird right?  They don’t really taste like mint though… They don’t really taste like anything actually, which makes them super easy to incorporate into your diet.  Actually, they’re probably one of the easiest superfoods to have every single day.

They’re most commonly used to make “chia pudding*,” but they can be thrown into pretty much anything from shakes and cereal all the way to meatballs and bread.  (And pretty much anything else in between).

*Chia pudding is made when you mix the seeds with a liquid.  Chia seeds can absorb up to NINE times their weight, so they form a tapioca-like substance that is quite delicious and versatile.

Okay so let me list off some of the benefits

1. Extremely helpful with weight loss. (A little goes a long way… One tablespoon of these mixed with water… which has no calories… ends up looking like a full bowl of food.  It’s a proven fact that we feel full faster if our food takes up more room).

2. Filled with omega-3 oil.  We all know of this oil being in fish.  Really though, how many of us have fish every single day… that would be quite expensive.  By weight chia seeds actually contain even more omega-3 oil than salmon does.

3. Can use to substitute in baked goods.  As I stated earlier, you can use these to make bread.  In most recipes, you can substitute half the butter or oil for chia seeds.  This will drastically decrease the amount of fat in the total recipe.  Granted that means you’ll probably have more 🙂

4. Cuts cravings for “not healthy” foods.  We tend to crave based on what our body wants.  For example, if our bodies want calcium, we will crave ice cream.  Since chia seeds are high in calcium (plus many other minerals), the chances that we’ll crave non-healthy things will decrease.

5. They actually add more flavor to recipes.  Yes, chia seeds are flavorless, but remember how I said they can hold up to 9 times their weight?  If you place them into something that has flavor to it, put simply, the seeds will “soak up” the flavor.  For example, put them into a chocolate smoothie, and the chocolate will be that much more chocolatey.

6. This is my favorite actually, but they give you a ton of energy.  Some people are actually known to taking chia shots rather than energy supplements.  It is a lot healthier for you, and it surprisingly has the same effect.  This is why I almost always add chia seeds to my breakfast before I workout.  I get that much more of an energy boost bright and early in the morning.

Now, if I haven’t convinced you to trying out chia seeds, I have one more tactic.  Starting tomorrow morning, I am going to start switching between chia pudding and oatmeal for my breakfast.  I have tried chia pudding before, but never have I ever made it my primary breakfast ingredient.  I have a lot of ideas for how to experiment with it, and I already have an amazing recipe sitting in my fridge right now so the seeds can soak the liquid.

And finally… where do you get them?  I get mine at my local grocery store in the organic section.  They are a little bit pricey (about eight dollars a bag), but like I said, per serving, you only really use between 1 and 2 tablespoons… if that, so you definitely get your moneys worth.

(Just in case you wanted to see what they look like 🙂 )

51nTb5Uq1XL._SL500_AA300_

11 thoughts on “Why Chia Seeds?

  1. This was really informative. I think I’ll pick up a bag of this the next time I’m at our whole foods store. It would be great if you shared some of your breakfast recipes using this. I’d love to try some of them.

  2. Pingback: Healthy Chia Seed Breakfast | Healthy Revelations

  3. I put 1 T chia seeds into a jar with 3/4 cup Kefir (it is a dairy product, but full of probiotics) and let them soak overnight. In the morning I add some fruit and/or granola or flax cereal and have a healthy breakfast. You could do the same with Greek yogurt!

  4. Great article! I discovered chia seeds this week and I bought a bag today at my local organic shop in the Netherlands. My body is very slow to digest foods and I read that chia seeds really help with digestion so I’m super excited to give them a try. Your breakfast recipe looks delicious so will definitely give that a try.

    • They are definitely worth having, and very adaptable. That recipe just so happens to be my favorite. If you’d like to see more let me know and i’ll come up with some things 🙂

  5. Pingback: Detox Flavor Infused Chia Water | Healthy Revelations

  6. Pingback: Overnight Oats Without Chia Seeds | Healthy Living Revelations

Leave a Reply

