Can I Really Have Dessert For Breakfast?

Disclaimer: I am not a nutritionist, what I have gathered here is based on my own research.  Granted, I have talked to a nutritionist before, but the majority of this I have put together on my own time. You have to listen to your own body, and if necessary, your doctor. 

One of the most common misconceptions about watching what you eat is that you have to be stuck to a strict 3 food meal plan: vegetables, baked chicken, and well… vegetables.  Sooo many people will bash anything with a gram of sugar in it… even fruit!  It seems that nowadays, anything over 100 calories by itself should be banned by your diet.  That pretty much means I can’t have that full banana or that 100% whole grain bread sitting over there.  I mean come on… how much sense does that make?  It’s one thing to go eating 6 bananas or half a loaf of bread, but a completely different story just having one piece of each.  Everything in moderation…. just certain things should be present more than others.  

Let’s say for example you go to the fair once a year, and you see that stand for deep fried butter.  It’s probably going to bring you way over your recommended calorie limit for the day, but you know what? It’s okay!  The fair only comes once a year.  It’s not like you’re going to live off of deep fried butter after that day… unless you have a deep fryer… and a lot of butter…. scratch that… you won’t. trust me. 🙂

We all need our “YOLO” meals.  Did you know that we started to crave sugar wayyy back in the caveman years?  That was how they were able to tell a rancid berry from an edible one.  It’s natural!  

Me personally, I have definitely struggled with sugar my whole life.  A few years ago, I seriously had the biggest sweet-tooth you could find.  Since then, I’ve adapted my diet, but I still do have my days where I just really want something sweet.  Unfortunately, I’d mainly get these cravings close to bedtime, which I hated because then I would have trouble sleeping.  There is quite a simple solution to this though, maybe you could guess. 🙂 (hint: the title!)

You could always satisfy those cravings before they even have the chance to hit!  For example, breakfast.  Now, I know many of us don’t wake up craving the sweets we do at night, but there are ways to work around this… Add in small amounts.

It’s amazing how much of a difference a few dark chocolate chips or a tablespoon of cocoa powder can make.  Even though not many calories are added onto the meal itself, it instantly becomes just sweet enough to feel satisfaction.  

I think my ABSOLUTE favorite addition to breakfast is adding peanut butter.  Oh my god peanut butter.  If anyone knows me, they know that I have the strongest love for peanut butter.  I don’t even know why I just do.  That’s why I rely so much on PB2, because it helps me not go overboard if I get a craving at night.  (BTW… just bought 8 cases on amazon today…. I told you it’s bad)…

Adding it in the morning though in just one or two tablespoons (natural peanut butter of course) makes all the difference.  It gives me the satisfaction of being able to have peanut butter, it keeps me fuller longer, and it gives me more energy throughout the day.  Yes, it adds more calories to the meal itself, but at the end of the day, it’s really about how much you ate overall, not in just one meal.  One step back, 2 steps forward.  

Take this in any way that you would like to.  If you crave cookies, crumble a healthy homemade oreo to your breakfast (If you would like to see a recipe I can post one).  Just be conscious of using good ingredients.  Read labels and be aware of portion sizes.  I know it can sound like a lot, and it can be difficult to put all the ratios together, but that’s what this site’s for.  To take the guess work out so you can have a base to make really pretty cool recipes work for you.

I am always open to suggestions, and now you understand my whole purpose behind promoting a category pretty much shunned by society.  

Let’s make healthy delicious again 🙂

Leave a Reply

