Carrot Cake Oatmeal

For some reason, I was really wanting to make an oatmeal out of a dessert that was a bit more savory, but still sweet.  I just so happened to be trying to come up with something while I was eating well… baby carrots.  At first I dismissed the thought of trying to incorporate carrots into oatmeal because that sounds gross right?  But then I remembered… carrot cake.  Hmm maybe I was onto something.  Carrots do have a naturally sweeter flavor especially when cooked down a bit, and once they’re grated, they mainly add a unique texture.

I also knew that people generally pair pineapple coconut and raisins with carrot cake.  This was actually perfect because I had all these ingredients leftover from past recipes.

This is what I came up with

1. 1/2 cup oats

2. 1 cup water

3. 2 tsps chia seeds

4. 1/2 cup grated carrots

5. cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, and ginger to taste (a few pinches of each)

6. 1 tsp vanilla extract

7. a pinch of salt (adds flavor)

8. honey or sweetener to taste

9. finely chopped pineapple

10. raisins

11. 1 tbsp coconut butter or just throw shredded coconut in the food processor for about 10 minutes until a butter like texture

12. nuts I used slivered almonds and pecans.  Walnuts would be best, but I didn’t have any on hand

Long ingredient list I know, but you can play around with proportions and substitute all you want.  This is just what I used and loved.

Begin by mixing the water, oats, chia seeds, salt, spices, carrots, and vanilla.  Microwave for about two minutes (or until almost all the water is absorbed), and let sit in the fridge overnight.

Image

When ready to enjoy, add pineapple and coconut butter.  Put back into the microwave until desired texture.  Then top with honey or sweetener, raisins, and nuts.

Image

This is one of those things where if I was blindfolded and I tried this, I would think I had been given a carrot cake dessert.  The best part is it’s all healthy!! 🙂

Question: What’s your favorite traditional dessert?

Leave a Reply

