Peanut Butter and Jelly Oatmeal

I think we are all aware that I have a slight… major… obsession with peanut butter.  Therefore, it’d really only be natural for me to make an oatmeal highlighting… well just that… peanut butter :).  (Plus it gives me an excuse to have it 🙂 )

I very readily will argue that peanut butter and jelly is one of the most nostalgic creations there is out there.  It’s one of those combinations that almost every food company will make a version of their product based off of… as long as it makes sense… I don’t think we’ll ever find peanut butter and jelly inspired sahlens hot dogs or peanut butter and jelly inspired tyson chicken nuggets.  We have however seen peanut butter and jelly ice cream

Image

Even peanut butter and jelly inspired mnms

Image

Haha and I found THIS when looking for these pictures…

Image

I have no response.

Okay back on topic.  SOOO I was quite inspired to come up with something that would bring me back the memories of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches besides just making a peanut butter and jelly.

Oatmeal is pretty much the perfect base for this because it already can act as the “bread” aspect of the sandwich.  All I really needed to add was peanut butter and jelly.

Of course I didn’t just want to do this though 🙂

I wanted to get the consistency of the oatmeal to be peanut butter-like while still holding the identity as my bread.  I knew from past experiences that adding egg whites creates that exact consistency.  This is what I came up with

     1. 1/3 cup oats

     2. 1 cup almond milk

     3. 1/4 cup egg whites

     4. 1 tbsp chia seeds

     5. 2 tbsp PB2 or natural peanut butter (or both 🙂 )

     6. 2 tbsp homemade jelly

     7. honey or sweetener to taste

Image

Combine the oats, chia seeds, milk, and egg whites.  Let sit overnight if desired.

Microwave when ready until desired thickness.

Image

At this point, I mixed in PB2 just to get that much more of a peanut butter taste.  Then I topped with my jelly and my natural peanut butter.

Image

This is heaven in my world.  End of story 🙂

Question: What’s your favorite childhood treat?

One thought on “Peanut Butter and Jelly Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Peanut Butter and Jelly Smoothie | Healthy Revelations

Leave a Reply

