Healthy Apple Pie Oatmeal

One of the first pies I have ever learned to properly make 100% from scratch was an apple pie, which my gramma taught to me :).  Ever since, this dessert has held a special spot in my heart.  Why not incorporate it for the most important meal of the day?

Okay as you will see later on in this post, this was a learning experience for me.  This recipe also isn’t as quick as my normal ones, but I’m debating if that’s because I was too lazy to let it sit overnight.  Regardless, it turned out like the perfect apple pie… without the excessive calories of course 🙂

I strongly recommend using all of the ingredients I listed.  They each have their own identity to what apple pie is, and it’s the combination of all of them that makes this “dessert” come to life.

Feel free to play around though if you have your own special family apple pie recipe you want to base it off of.  I know some people put cheddar in their apple pies.. I cannot stand cheese with a passion, and I’m not too sure how it’d taste, but hey, someone’s gotta try right?

Okay, here’s the recipe

1. 1/3 cup oats

2. 1/4 cup almond milk or any other milk you’d like

3. 1/2 cup water

4. 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

5. 2 tsp chia seeds

6. 1/4 tsp nutmeg

7. 1/4 tsp allspice

8. 1/8 tsp ginger

9. 1/2 tsp vanilla

10. 1/2 tsp lemon juice

11. pinch of salt

12. 1 diced apple (make sure diced into at most 1/4 inch thicknesses)

13. 1 tsp cinnamon (plus more for topping)

14. drizzle of honey or any other sweetener

15. Any nut or other add in you desire.  Maybe even some crushed graham cracker to act as the crust?

It’s a lot I know, but the majority of the ingredients most of us have lying around especially since the holidays just ended.  All the spices are probably quite abundant.  (I know my family personally has 3 jars of nutmeg haha).

Assembling this recipe is actually extremely fool proof… just put everything except the honey in a container or jar or bowl or whatever you’re going to use that is big enough so it won’t spill over.

Image

For some reason I chose a plastic container… not my best decision i’ll tell you that.  Nothing horrible happened, but it definitely got a bit more pliable than it should have been.  Don’t do that.

This particular recipe takes a while to microwave.  This is important though because the apples NEED a lot of time to reach the right texture as they are in apple pie.

I think it took me about 8 to 10 minutes total of active microwave time.  It is imperative your container is big enough or else there is very little chance you are going to be able to microwave it long enough to get the right texture.

Since I ended up microwaving this about double the normal amount of time… a minor dilemma occurred.  I always pre-stir my oats before microwaving, and generally i’ll just leave the spoon in the container so I can stir throughout the cooking process.  Well, when I took it out after my last time microwaving… there was no longer a spoon visible…

I ended up finding it, and this is what it looked like.

Image

Lesson learned.

But hey, at least my oatmeal turned out awesome 🙂

Image

By the way… at this point you can add the honey and any other sweetener you would like.

Question: What’s your favorite way to have apple pie?

One thought on “Healthy Apple Pie Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

