Banana Bread Breakfast

For some reason, I was in the mood for something besides oatmeal today.  Something completely unique that would really reinvent my breakfast.  What I found may sound really weird… maybe even a bit crazy, but just trust me when I say this is one of the best breakfasts I have ever had.

I found this on a blog called Chocolate Covered Katie.  I adapted it a bit to my taste, but it was as good as she promised it would be.  Now I am sharing it with you so you can share in the joy of the amazingness (new word 🙂 ) of this.

As stated in the title, this breakfast tastes exactly like banana bread.  My whole life, I have had my Grandma Zakes’ special banana bread, so I am very picky about what banana bread is supposed to taste like.  This fits my standards and left me feeling like I had just indulged in her famous treat.

You only need a handful of ingredients to be able to prepare this.  All of which I already had lying around my house.

1. 1 cup bran flakes

2. 1 cup milk (I used almond milk)

3. 1 frozen banana cut into pieces

4. 1 tsp vanilla extract

5. 1/2 tsp nutmeg

6. 1 tsp cinnamon

7. nuts and or chocolate chips for topping

ImageNow I know so far it sounds pretty normal.  Here comes the weird part.  Take all of the ingredients and…

Put them into a blender.  Yes, a blender.  Blend completely, put in a jar with a lid, and then set in the fridge.  Leave in the fridge for at least 15 to 20 minutes because it will thicken up substantially.  I left it overnight though because I didn’t want to wait for it to thicken in the morning.

Image

I know that sounds really weird, but you have to trust me.  Sometimes the weirdest combinations and techniques turn out to be the best.  Look at Elvis for example… who else would think a fried peanut butter, banana, honey, and bacon sandwich would be good?

Okay back on topic. This is what it should look like when it’s ready:

Image

Place into a bowl, and then top with whatever you’d like.

Image

Pecans were my first topping of choice, but after I had taken the picture and everything, I had a stroke of genius.  My favorite part of my grandma’s banana bread was the fact that there were warm gooey chocolate chips in it.  I didn’t just want to throw chocolate chips on the top though and put it in the microwave because I wanted the consistency of the breakfast itself to stay the same.  Instead, I took a handful of chocolate chips, but them in a bowl, and microwaved them for about 30 seconds so they were still chocolate chip shapes, but were beginning to get gooey.  Then, I quickly put them on top of my breakfast and microwaved it all for only about 10 to 15 seconds.  The result?  The exact taste of fresh out of the oven, warm, and chocolatey banana bread.

TO. DIE. FOR!

Question: What is the weirdest recipe or combination you have tried before?

One thought on “Banana Bread Breakfast

  1. Pingback: Identical to Tiramisu, Healthy Breakfast | Healthy Revelations

Leave a Reply

