Never Before Created Detox 100% Healthy Chia Fluff!

Ahhh oh my god i’m going crazy!!  But seriously!  I can honestly say I have created a brand new use, taste, and texture of chia seeds that has never been documented before.  And you know what?  It. Is. AMAZING!!

So it is currently 5:30 am, and I don’t remember the last time I had this much energy and excitement.  I don’t even think I need my tim hortons coffee next to me, but i’m going to drink it anyway 🙂

Okay back on topic.  So I promised you guys that I would be making detox recipes soon, well I stick to my promises, and I have created just that.  I also created a chia experience I can guarantee you have never had before.

Let’s just get right to it.

So I put together a base chia recipe originally that you could have just as is.  I did try it and it is amazing in itself.  I just wanted to be a little creative this time 🙂

You will need:

1. 2 tbsp chia seeds

2. 1/2 cup steeped green tea

3. 3 tbsp water

4. 1 tbsp lemon juice

5. a pinch of ginger

6. a pinch of cayenne

7. cinnamon, honey, and sweetener (if you so want) to taste

8. Blueberries

9. pineapple chunks

Image

Simply, mix everything together except the sweeteners and the fruit (so 1-6), and put in the fridge overnight or let sit for at least 20 to 30 minutes (or until thickened).  We all know about chia gel… I don’t think I have to explain this process anymore 🙂

This is what it looked like before I put it in the fridge though (I went picture crazy on this one)

Image

Once a gel is formed, you could stop this recipe there.  Like I said, I tried it at this point, and it does taste amazing.

Image

We’re not stopping though 🙂

Time for the second recipe… in this recipe.  The fluff

     1. 2 pasteurized egg whites (make SURE they are pasteurized… we’re not cooking these.  If this freaks you out like I said before you don’t have to do this part.  You’ll still get all of the detoxing benefits, just with less protein).

     2. 1/4 tsp cream of tartar

     3. 1/4 tsp vanilla

Place all of these ingredients in a bowl, and it’s time to whip.  As you probably know, I absolutely love to bake, so I have whipped plenty of egg whites in my time.  Call me crazy, but I have done it by hand… without a mixer before.  I don’t recommend this.  It takes forever, but if you want a quick arm workout, hey, go for it more power to ya.

Through my experience, I have come to the conclusion that there are two extremely important rules to whipping egg whites:

    1. EVERYTHING (whisk and bowl) must be extremely clean.  Any extra debris… even a speck of an egg yolk will hinder your results.  I’m serious… even a speck.

     2. Don’t over mix.  It is easy to want to keep whipping because it’s a pretty cool process to watch, but the second you form stiff peaks STOP.  These will break easily, and once you go there, you don’t come back.

You’ll know you have stiff peaks when you can do this:

Image

Now, transfer these to your breakfast bowl… or in my case a paper bowl because we can’t use normal ones in my house (due to the fact we don’t have a kitchen for another month 😦 )

Image

Ahh so fluffy :).  Okay.  Finally, throw your chia mix into the whites (not literally), mix, and then top with honey or any other sweetener you would like.  You are going to need a sweetener for this one in my opinion, the egg whites don’t naturally have any sweetness. The honey was enough for me though.

Image

Even though I already had my blueberries and pineapple mixed into this, I decided to top it with a few more.  Just because 🙂

Image

Yay chia fluff!!!! Honestly this is sooooooooooo filling.  I woke up today really really hungry, and I could barely finish it… trust me though I did :).  You could easily get away with halving this entire recipe and still feeling very satisfied from it.  AHHH I love this!!! Please let me know if you try it and what you think of it.  The best part is you really can’t get a more balanced breakfast than this.  All of the ingredients are detox ingredients too.  It’s like a win win win… win! 🙂

Question: What’s your favorite way to have chia seeds?

4 thoughts on “Never Before Created Detox 100% Healthy Chia Fluff!

  1. Pingback: Superfood Saturday: Tea | Healthy Revelations

  2. Pingback: Low Calorie Strawberry Shortcake Protein Pancakes | Healthy Revelations

  3. Pingback: Banana Almond Breakfast Quinoa | Healthy Revelations

  4. Pingback: Daily Blog- Day 22: Top 10 Recipes | Healthy Living Revelations

Leave a Reply

