Why Acai?

I don’t know about you, but over the past few years, pretty much any smoothie shop or froyo shop I went to somehow advertised acai in some of their products.  I never really thought anything of it.  The most thought I put to it was probably just how to say it (ahhh-sigh…like PSY the singer of Gangnam Style… e).  I never actually stopped to think WHY they were putting acai in so many of their products.  I just figured if they were advertising it… there was probably a reason, so I probably should get it.  (Amazing how marketing works isn’t it).

Well lucky for me this wasn’t one of those scams that advertises a burger fries and milkshake joint as being “nutritional,” acai actually does have miraculous qualities that really individualizes it from any other berry out there.

Get this… acai actually only grows around the Amazon rainforest region, and it only has a 24 hour period that it’s good once it’s harvested.  So why go through all that trouble to incorporate it in so many United States products when it’d probably be easier to just leave it where it is?

BECAUSE IT’S A CRAZY SPECTACULAR SUPERFOOD!! And for something to actually be classified as a “superfood,” it needs to be extremely nutrient dense in a small quantity, which acai berries are!

Most of the forms of acai you can get are in the forms of a juice.  While this is a good choice, I prefer the smoothie packets of frozen pure acai.

(This is the one I stock up on)

Image

(I’m going to be posting a recipe for breakfast using this tomorrow so stay tuned!!)

Okay, back to the benefits:

     1. They actually have anti-aging properties.  Simply put, since they have the highest amount of antioxidants out of any berry there is, they best contribute to the slowing of inflammation that results in aging properties

     2. Energy boost.  Since acai does have so many powerful antioxidants, having it results in feeling energized and refreshed.  Much better than relying on energy drinks, and it only takes a few berries to notice an effect.

     3. Can help prevent cancer.  Since acai is very high in vitamin C, it naturally results in boosting your immune system and your bodies ability to kill off tumorous cells.

     4. Back to the topic of detox.  Acai berries are high in fiber, so taking them will help to “flush” out your system and increase the function of your digestive tract as a whole.

     5. Aids in weight loss.  It’s satisfying for a low amount of calories and keeps you full.  What more can you ask for?

     6. Acai berries are very well known to improve your heart health.  They can help to lower cholesterol while also improving overall blood circulation through the body.

I have been researching a lot about acai berries the past few days.  While I have noticed that you can easily incorporate them into your diet with a pill or a powder, I really want to take them to the next level.  I already have an amazing breakfast lined up for tomorrow, and I can’t wait to share it with you.  I would absolutely love to keep coming up with new acai recipes if you’d so be interested.  Just let me know by commenting here, through email, facebook, or twitter.  I’ll be sure to get back to you 🙂

Question: What superfood would you like to know more about?

Image

25 thoughts on “Why Acai?

  1. Pingback: Acai Breakfast Bowl | Healthy Revelations

  2. Does your website have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email.
    I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  3. Hey There. I discovered your weblog using msn. That is a
    very well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to learn extra of your helpful info.

    Thank you for the post. I’ll certainly comeback.

  4. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and
    wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  5. Howdy! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a
    captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  6. We absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be exactly what I’m
    looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write concerning here. Again, awesome weblog!

  7. Have you ever considered about including a little
    bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you
    say is fundamental and everything. Nevertheless imagine if you added some great graphics or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and clips, this
    site could definitely be one of the very best in its
    niche. Terrific blog!

  8. I’ll immediately snatch your rss as I can’t to find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please allow me realize in order that
    I could subscribe. Thanks.

  9. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I want to suggest you some interesting things or tips.
    Maybe you can write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it!

  10. Great beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your
    web site, how could i subscribe for a blog site?
    The account aided me a acceptable deal. I
    had been a little bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear
    concept

  11. Link exchange is nothing else however it is simply placing
    the other person’s blog link on your page at appropriate place and other person will also do similar in favor of you.

  12. Hi! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this post to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  13. Unquestionably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be
    on the web the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you,
    I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they just do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal.
    Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  14. My developer is trying to convince me to move to .
    net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on various websites
    for about a year and am nervous about switching to another platform.
    I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.net.

    Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

Leave a Reply

