Banana chocolate chip pancake/ brownie oatmeal recipe

I know, the title’s confusing put I promise at the end it’ll all make sense 🙂

Okay, I want to start a little off topic.  I BOUGHT A VITAMIX!! I have been wanting to get one of these for a long time, and I finally convinced myself that it would be worth it to get one.  I was planning on buying an ice cream maker and a new food processor anyways, so I figured, why not get a blender that can do all in one? When I get it, expect lotssss of super healthy ice cream recipes and smoothies and other treats.  I am also going to experiment with some unique nut butters that have never been really tried.  Such as mixing cashews with peanuts to get a cashew-peanut butter, or maybe even pistachios with almonds??  The possibilities are endless, and I am really excited, so please send me any crazy or just plain delicious sounding ideas and I will be up to try it 🙂

For those of you who are curious this is the model I got. https://secure.vitamix.com/5200-Getting-Started.aspx.  If any of you have this or any other form of a vitamix, I’d love to hear your thoughts on it 🙂 I’m pretty excited I have to admit, I’m just dreading the 8-15 day shipping wait 😦

Okay back on topic.  So when thinking back to my childhood, my FAVORITE food of all time was pancakes.  This is a bit embarrassing, but I used to run around the house repeatedly singing “pancakes” in order to get my dad to make them.  Luckily most of the time it worked :).  My dad used to make the biggest pancakes you could ever find… that isn’t just because I was about 6 at the time and everything seemed bigger… even now those things appear massive to me.  He would even make them with shortening as the oil so they’d be super super crispy.  My favorite part though was the melted chocolate chips in it :).  I’ve always been a chocoholic…. addiction admitted.

Now, I’m not saying I wouldn’t absolutely love to indulge in his pancakes every morning of my life, but rather than making me feel all happy and bouncy now, they just leave me feeling lethargic and unmotivated… not the best way to start the day.

New mission: To recreate these pancakes in a low calorie but delicious and indulgent breakfast.  Actually, I think this is one of the lowest calorie recipes I’ve come up with, yet it’s one of the most decadent… weird how that works isn’t it?

Okay, recipe time

1. 1/4 cup oats

2. 1/2 cup almond milk (or any other milk you’d like)

3. 1/4 cup water

4. maple extract (very very important)

5. vanilla extract (not as important I just like vanilla 🙂 )

6. a little bit of cinnamon

7. 1/2 a banana

8. 1/4 cup egg whites

9. 1/8 tsp cream of tartar

10. I used a packet of stevia to sweeten this one, I think it’s important to fully obtain the maple syrup flavor

11. dark chocolate covered cacao nibs (or chocolate chips)

Begin like we always generally do.  Mix the water, almond milk, oats, 1/4 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp maple extract, and cinnamon in a microwavable bowl.  Microwave for a few minutes (until liquid is almost absorbed) and then place in fridge overnight.

I have to confess to something.  I broke my number one rule.  I decided not to watch this while it was microwaving.  The result?  EVERYTHING spilled over.  I had a huge mess to clean up plus I had to start from scratch.  WATCH YOUR OATS!

Image

In the morning, whip the egg whites, more maple extract, and the cream of tartar.  For this step broken down, check out my Chia Fluff recipe.

This is what it should look like though

Image

Now it’s time to prepare the oatmeal.  First, take it out of the fridge.

Image

Yes I realize that picture wasn’t at all necessary, but hey I took it so there you go 🙂

Microwave it until desired consistency.  I put it in for about five minutes.  I would say for this recipe, you want to have a chewier base especially because you’re mixing it with egg whites which do smooth it out substantially.

Image

Now it’s time to add sweetness.  Microwave your banana for about 1 minute until mushy and caramelized.  Add that to the oats along with a little bit of cinnamon and a stevia packet.  Taste and add more of whatever you want to get your desired taste.  I added a bit more maple extract because I loveeeee the taste of maple syrup.  That’s totally up to your own preference though.

Mix in the egg whites and top with your cacao nibs

Image

GAHH soooooo good!!!!! I mixed in a bit more maple extract at this point too… no lie 🙂

OKAY so BROWNIE TIME!

When I was about halfway through breakfast, I had a revelation.  What would happen if I heated this up.  I knew that potential disaster was at bay, but it was a risk I was willing to take.

I placed it in the microwave, and microwaved it for one minute.  When I took it out, at first it looked like a mess.  I thought I would be throwing it out.  Instead, I decided to stir it a bit.  As I did, something magical happened.  It transformed into the EXACT consistency of a brownie batter.  I was a bit shocked honestly.  I ran into my… well dining room… and grabbed unsweetened cocoa from our random make shift shelf (remember we don’t have a kitchen at the moment).  I stirred a bit in, mixed it up, and tried it.  Oh my god I felt so sinful.  It was exactly like sneaking a spoonful of brownie mix while eating high fat brownies, but this is low calorie, and healthy.  REVELATION!

Mission: Complete 🙂

2 thoughts on “Banana chocolate chip pancake/ brownie oatmeal recipe

  1. I LOVE my Vitamix and you will love it when you finally get it! I use mine every single day! From smoothies to soups to nut butters it is AMAZING!!! So worth the money 🙂

  2. Pingback: Healthy Cookie Latte Breakfast Parfait | Healthy Revelations

Leave a Reply

