Healthy White Chocolate Peanut Butter Breakfast Milkshake

Have you ever been so lazy that even the thought of having to tend to and CHEW a breakfast makes you groan?  Well, today that was me.  (Hey, you’d be the same if you had to wake up at 4am to even hope to make it to work on time).  I wanted something really thick, creamy, peanut buttery (of course), and easy to make.  I wanted it to be healthy too :).  We all have dreams

And lucky for me, my dream has come true :).

Yesterday, I was really REALLY craving something sweet.  So I grabbed half a banana, coated it with Peanut Butter and Co’s White Chocolate Wonderful peanut butter, and then added a few dark chocolate covered cacao nibs.

Let me just stop for a second to rave about this peanut butter.  If you have never heard or tried any of the products from Peanut Butter and Co, you have not lived.  They started out as a peanut butter sandwich shop (I’m serious) in NYC.  When their customers would ask to take home their crazy flavored peanut butter, they decided that they should sell it.  Thank God they did!!!

I discovered this company about a year ago when I was looking through the peanut butter aisle.  Honestly, I’m not a fan of nutella, but I loved the idea of incorporating dark chocolate into a spread.  I just didn’t like the consistency of the nutella itself, so I figured I should just dismiss the idea.  Lucky for me I didn’t have to because that day, I ran into a new flavor of peanut butter I have never heard of before.  It was called Dark Chocolate Dreams.  (I noticed there were other flavors around it, but at that point I was too immersed in the dark chocolate I didn’t even bother looking).  I immediately took it off the shelf and took it home.  Yeah it didn’t last long.  🙂 Since then, I have also tried their cinnamon raisin flavor and most recently white chocolate wonderful, which is what inspired this breakfast.

Image

Okay back on topic.

So as I was eating my treat, I began to wonder if there was any way I could incorporate this in a breakfast.  Especially because peanut butter is very filling, and I knew I would need a power breakfast to make it through an 8 1/2 hour day without crashing.

What better way to do this than a thick creamy milkshake?

Knowing about the frozen banana ice cream trick, I figured rather than throwing in scoops of ice cream, I could just use a frozen banana.  So I did, and this is the recipe I came up with

1. 1 frozen banana

2. 2/3 cup almond milk

3. 1 1/2 tbsp PB2 (can do more if desired that’s just the first measuring tool I saw)

4. 1 tbsp White Chocolate Wonderful Peanut Butter

5. cinnamon to taste

Image

Simply place all the ingredients in the blender, and blend!

IMG_9812

Mine turned out really super thick and creamy, which is saying something because the blender I used doesn’t even have a lid anymore.  (I used a coffee filter to cover it…)

When my vitamix comes in I’m going to be doing a lot more recipes like this, they’ll just turn out even better and they’ll be even more creative 🙂  I kinda cheated a bit this time since peanut butter is naturally thick, but hey you gotta work around what you’ve got.

IMG_4980

Question: What’s your favorite flavor milkshake?

Leave a Reply

