Pear Baked Oatmeal

Out of all of the fruits I have heard people talk about, I think I have heard the least negative reviews about pears.  How could you not love them though?  They’re the perfect balance of sweet and juicy… when ripe.  Well lucky for me I had bought one about a week ago and forgot about it.  So when I was going through my pantry today, I found it and it couldn’t have been more ready to eat :).  (Don’t you love that?)

I had been wanting to make baked oatmeal for awhile, and I remember seeing a recipe by The Oatmeal Artist for pear baked oatmeal.  I knew I was onto something.

For those of you who have been following me for a bit, you know that I currently don’t have a working kitchen.  Therefore, I do not have access to an oven.  How in the world would I be able to make BAKED oatmeal?  Well technically you do need to put it in the oven, but it worked in the microwave.  There just wasn’t a crispy top produced, but that’s okay… for now.  Just you wait until when I get my kitchen back 🙂

You are going to need:
1.1/2 cup oats

2. 1/3 cup water (you can use milk if you’d like)

3. 1/4 tsp vanilla extract

4. about 1 tsp almond extract

5. 1 pear

6. 1/8 tsp ginger

7. 1/4 tsp baking powder

8. salt and cinnamon to taste

10.  I guess you could add stevia or another sweetener if you want, but the pear really naturally sweetens it up enough in my opinion

Start by cutting your pear into 4 segments.  Take the skin off half the segments.

ImageMicrowave these two segments for about one minute, and then mash with a fork.  There will be a lot of excess liquid.  You can throw it out if you want, but I used it to make Pear Flavored Detox Chia Water.  You could probably add it to the oatmeal too, I’m just not 100% positive if it would change anything.  I think it should be fine though.

Cube the other pear segments.

Image

Mix all of the ingredients together in a bowl.

Image

And then transfer to a ramekin or container of your choice.  MAKE SURE to grease or oil so the oatmeal doesn’t stick.  I just used pam.

ImageAs I said before, I microwaved this with a paper plate over the top for about 6 minutes.  If you are also microwaving you’ll know when it’s done when the top is pretty firm.

If you are using an oven… which is the preferred choice… bake it for 18 to 21 minutes at 350F.

Image

Mine is paired with my pear chia water 🙂  Words cannot describe how extremely refreshing this breakfast was.  Oh and I topped it with a bit of cinnamon just to add in another superfood.  Just a sprinkle on the top was enough.

3 thoughts on “Pear Baked Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Detox Flavor Infused Chia Water | Healthy Revelations

  2. Pingback: Healthy Pear Overnight Oats | Healthy Revelations

Leave a Reply

