The Key To Moderation

(BTW: Image is the quote I live my life by.  It’s from my absolute favoriteeeee clothes designer Lorna Jane 🙂 )

This is just going to be a really quick post, but I recently heard a saying that I haven’t been able to stop thinking about, so I decided to share it with you.

One bad meal isn’t going to make you fat, just like one healthy meal won’t make you skinny.

Now, the first part of this I have heard about countless times.  Especially through research that I’ve done about the optimum lifestyle.  I however haven’t really heard anyone put the second part of the saying into words before.

It’s one of those things that I always knew because it is kind of common sense, but I never really focused on.

Since it’s kind of getting to that time of the year where our fitness resolutions might be dwindling a bit, I think it’s important to address this part of the saying.

Did you know.. it takes 12 weeks for acquaintances or just random people in our life to actually notice change to our physique?  (4 weeks for the individual to, and 8 for close friends and family). 12 weeks!!  No wonder we get frustrated!

When we try to focus on a goal of “i’m going to lose 5 pounds,” or “I’m going to get jacked,” in many cases, we are setting ourselves up for failure.

Let me explain.  So to lose 5 pounds, what do you have to do?  Well eat healthy and exercise right?  Well, thinking  back to when I was a bit of a sugaraholic, I used to make one meal super super healthy, and stay with my normal habits the rest of the day.  I’d do this maybe one or two days a week, and expect to notice  huge changes.  When I felt the same, I just went back to my old ways.

So where was I going wrong?  I picked a good way to start by slowly incorporating healthy meals into my diet, but I expected those two or three meals to change everything.  Fun fact: I even remember going around telling people I was being super healthy because I convinced myself so strongly those meals made a difference.

Making changes to your diet are not easy at all.  Unfortunately asking for dressing on the side once or choosing one whole grain breakfast over cocoa puffs change your appearance.  I think that as remembering this and remembering that it’s okay to not see immediate results in our lifestyle goals is important.  It’ll help us to stay strong during 2013 and to push through and come out better individuals.

Oh last note, don’t forget the first part of the saying too.  I loveeeeee baking (when I have a kitchen), and when I am coming up with a new baking recipe or just going all out, I make no substitutions.  I have spent 8 dollars on 2 sticks of full fat european butter before, and let me tell you, i’d do it again any day.  There are just certain things you can’t beat with substitutions.  Hence why I always ALWAYS keep jarS of regular peanut butter at home.  Sometimes you just need to really treat yourself with the REAL thing.  YOLO 🙂

Leave a Reply

