Healthy French Toast Made In the Microwave

So I want to start this entry a bit different.  It’s about the dinner I made last night.  Normally I just throw things together for dinner without caring about the presentation or really making it special.  (It’s generally my least creative meal of the day).

Image

Shrimp salad with a side of seasoned green beens

and for dessert

Image

an ice cream sundae that is under 200 calories! Crazy right? 🙂

Okay back on topic.  So I have been looking for a use for the Ezekiel Bread I just purchased.  (For more information on what this is click this link).

I try to have foods that give me a lot of energy early in the morning, so I quickly decided the perfect time to have it would be for breakfast.

I was debating a toast combination (which I might still do one day), but I reallyyy wanted to be creative.  Since today is pretty much my sunday (because it’s the second day I have off in a row), I figured I deserved a treat.

Oh my god french toast.  I don’t even remember the last time I had french toast.  Easily, it could be 5 years since the last time I had it.  Just the idea of it made me want to immediately make it (don’t worry… I held back 🙂 ).

I still wanted to keep it healthy though, and you can’t forget the fact I don’t have a stovetop to make it the traditional way.  Well to the microwave I went and this is what I came up with.

1. 1 large egg (I guess you could use egg whites, but there are a ton of nutrients in the yolks)

2. 2 pieces of Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin Bread (You could use one, but this was my preworkout meal, so I really wanted it to be substantial).

3. Okay I didn’t have maple syrup in the house (crazy I know), so I substituted with 1 tsp maple extract and a packet of stevia)

4. cinnamon

5. 3 tbsp almond milk (or any other milk)

6. 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

That’s for the french toast itself, for the topping you are going to need

7. 2 tsp white chocolate wonderful peanut butter

8. 1/2 very ripe mashed banana

Okay start by taking out your bread… you can use whatever bread you want I forgot to mention that

Image

Cube it, and place it in a mug of your choice.

Image

Isn’t that cute? 🙂

This is what it should look like though

Image

Mix together all of the other ingredients for the french toast itself (not the banana or peanut butter)

Image

and pour it into the mug.

Image

Mix it around a bit with a fork just to make sure all of the bread is soaking.  Let it sit for a few minutes.

In the meantime, prepare the topping.

This is the banana I used.

Image

Yes, I know it looks bad, but I had previously frozen it and then thawed it overnight.  I promise you this is the prime state for a banana to be in in regards to making toppings or sweetening things.

Mash half of the banana, and then microwave it along with the peanut butter

Image

I microwaved each for about a minute.  Pretty much just do it until the peanut butter moves around when you tilt the bowl, and the banana is a bit caramelized.

Mix them together

Image

Finally, microwave your french toast a minute at a time.  It took me about three minutes.  Microwave it until there is no liquid left.

Top with a bit of cinnamon and enjoy!

Image

Originally, I was just going to dip the french toast in the peanut butter mix, but oh my god you have to mix them together.  It is to dieeeeeeeee for trust me!

Question: What’s your favorite bread for french toast?

Leave a Reply

