Superfood Saturday: Eggs

I really can’t express how badly I’ve needed the past two days.  It’s been so nice to just get all my thoughts together and relax for a change.  Tomorrow’s back to 8 hour days, and I am totally okay with that.

My I went out for dinner with just my parents.  Originally, we were going to go to Outback Steakhouse, but there was a 45 minute wait… we forgot it was a saturday night.  Instead we ended up driving home, and walking to a little restaurant we’ve never gone to before around the corner from my house.  I almost froze my face off on the way there, but dinner was delicious.  I tried halibut for the first time, and I can definitely say I’d have it again.  We opted out on dessert because we have chocolate cake at home… even though we all just came home and sat by the fire place with tea haha.

Sophie and Sadie of course joined 🙂

IMG_1161

Okay back on topic, so the food I’m going to be talking about today we’ve probably all had for as long as we can remember… eggs.  From poached to scrambled to over-easy, there are countless ways to have them.  I’ve even gotten into the habit of just throwing whites into my oatmeal just for added protein.

So throughout this post I am going to be answering two questions.

1. Why are eggs considered a superfood?

and probably the most controversial question

2. Should we eat the yolk?

Let’s start with the first, I’ve already mentioned that they contain a ton of protein (about 6 grams in a whole egg for only about 70 calories), so I’ll list some other ones

1. Like pretty much every other superfood out there, eggs can aid in weight loss.  Since they aren’t very calorie dense, yet filling, you don’t need to consume a lot to feel satisfied.  And unlike refined carbs, eggs leave you feeling satisfied for a long time so you don’t feel the need to snack I don’t know.. like 30 seconds later.

2. Also, eggs contain a lot of omega-3 fatty acids.  What you may not have known is that our bodies don’t produce these.  We need to get them from food sources.  This is why it is so vital to have them and people kinda go crazy when they find foods that are high in them.  I think it’s also probably why people will throw 40 dollars on a little bottle of fish oil.

3. They’re a good protein substitute for people who are trying to avoid eating meat.

4. The nutrients from the yolk in the egg can actually help improve the health of your eyes and keep them healthy longer.

5. They can help your hair grow longer quicker since they contain keratin, which improves cell growth and repair.

Okay so now that I’ve covered all the bases for the benefits of eating eggs, let’s talk about whites vs. yolks:

Over my time of hearing sides of this debate, I have come to the conclusion that there are two problems with eating the yolks:

1. They contain high amounts of cholesterol

2. They contain the majority of the calories in the egg

Both are true, but are they bad enough to where you should throw out the yolk entirely?

Let’s start with the first point.  Yes, they contain cholesterol, but our liver needs cholesterol to function.  Everything in moderation (how many times am I going to say that?)

They also contain the majority of the nutrients in the egg.

In regards to the calorie content… Yes, the yolk does contain the majority of the calories, but let’s put this into perspective.  A WHOLE egg only contains 70 calories.  That really isn’t many to begin with.  If you really love the taste of a good cooked egg, go ahead and have the whole egg.  Just be aware of how many you are having.  MODERATION

If you don’t like the taste of the yolk.  Don’t have the yolk. 🙂

Eating healthy shouldn’t be forcing yourself to have something you don’t like.  Personally, I hate just having the egg white with nothing on it.  I would much rather have a plain cooked egg.  That aside, I would much rather put egg whites into my oatmeal because I like that it just makes the eggs fluffier rather than eggy (unless I want it to taste eggy).

Eggs in general are extremely healthy, so incorporating them into your diet in some way will be beneficial.  Experiment a bit.  There are a million different things you can do.  For example, tomorrow I’m going to be making a breakfast sushi with eggs 🙂 stay tuned for that.  (I’ll be mixing one yolk with whites for those who are curious).

Question of the day: What’s your favorite way to prepare eggs?

baby-chick-and-an-egg

One thought on “Superfood Saturday: Eggs

Leave a Reply

