Healthy Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie Breakfast Sundae

Healthy sundae… what?  Does that even exist?  Well now it does 🙂

Okay quick side note… guess what came yesterday…..

Image

MY VITAMIX!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  (I’ll admit it took me a good 3-4 hours to actually take it out of the box because I was scared to touch it).

But thank goodness I did!  You get what you pay for that’s for sure, and I confirmed that with breakfast this morning.

Of course I wanted to go big on flavor with my first vitamix recipe.  I wanted something that was decadent and delicious.

Well in my book, that combination is chocolate and peanut butter hands down… surprised? 🙂

We’re going to start off this recipe with a brownie-like baked oatmeal.  Now this is another one of my own creations, and it’s definitely different than regular baked oatmeal

1. 1/2 cup oats

2. 1/3 cup water

3. 1 heaping tsp dutch processed cocoa

4. 1 1/2 packets of stevia (dutch processed is a really dark cocoa, so I used more sweetener than I normally would in my recipes)

5. 1 tsp pure vanilla extract (use 1/2 tsp if you’re using imitation, but you really can’t beat pure madagascar bourbon in my opinion)

6. a sprinkle of cinnamon

7. 1/4 tsp baking powder

8. pinch of salt (this actually is rather important, it adds depth and enhances the chocolate)

Mix all of the ingredients together in a bowl.  Take a hand mixer, and mix it until it’s a brownie-like consistency.  I was debating using my vitamix for this, but I didn’t want to have a totally smooth textured oatmeal, so instead I just used my mixer.

Image

Since I was lazy, I did this the night before.  In the morning it was pretty much like a brownie cookie dough batter… if that exists.

I took it out of the bowl, and then put it into a ramekin I sprayed with pam.

Image

Hey! What are those ice cube things?

I’ll get to that now 🙂

You are going to need

     1. 1 cup almond milk (if you want a more creamy ice cream, you can use regular milk, coconut milk, or even cream)

     2. pinch of salt

     3. 1 tsp vanilla (I used the pure again)

     4. Stevia to taste (I used one packet)

     5. 2-3 tbsp melted peanut butter (or more if you’d like)

Like before, simply mix all the ingredients together.  Taste and then adjust sweetness according to preference.

Pour the mixture into ice cube trays, and let sit until frozen (overnight preferred)

Once ready to make, microwave for about 30 seconds just to soften, and then blend in your vitamixer.

Start at the lowest speed. Slowly increase until you reach the highest speed, and then blend on high until it’s an ice cream consistency.

I microwaved the oatmeal for about 1 minute and 30 seconds.  Just to give it a littttle bit of chewiness and warmth.  (Like a fresh brownie).

Image

Now let’s pretty this up

ImageYes, this was my breakfast. Jealous? 🙂

Question: What recipes would you like to see made in the vitamix or really just any recipe in general?    

One thought on “Healthy Chocolate Peanut Butter Brownie Breakfast Sundae

  1. Pingback: Cookies and Ice Cream for Breakfast?? | Healthy Revelations

Leave a Reply

