Healthy Red Velvet Oatmeal

Happy Valentines Day loves 🙂  For me, this is one of those days I always look forward to, boyfriend or not.  I just love the idea of dedicating a whole day to love.  Typical girl I know.

Even if you don’t have a special someone, that doesn’t mean you can’t celebrate this special day.  Who better to show some love and care to than yourself?  I mean you’re the only person you’re always going to be stuck with at the end of the day no matter what.

Dedicate this day to you 🙂

And why not start this day off with an awesome Valentines Day inspired breakfast (that’s still healthy!)

Now, this recipe is probably going to sound super weird and bizarre to most of you, but I promise you that it does turn out amazing.

I have a little secret ingredient for this.  An ingredient that bakers actually used to use to naturally color their goods way back before food coloring.

Stumped?

It’s beets.  Yes.  Those weird vegetables that most people probably don’t like.

Oh oh quick joke my dad always used to tell me when I was little:

When do you eat beets?……..

…… When you’re beat up!! Ah corny.  He actually got that joke published in a magazine and made a dollar off of it.  True story.

Okay what was I talking about? Oh yeah, even though it sounds disgusting you can’t even taste them in the recipe.  Just like you can’t taste tomato soup or mayonnaise when you use either in cupcakes.

For this recipe I just bought precanned beets.  Since I again do not have a stovetop, I wanted them to be microwave friendly so I could still work with them.

I used about 5-6 slices for this.

You are also going to need

1. 1/2 cup oats

2. 3/4 cups water

3. 1/4 cup egg whites

4. 1 tsp chia seeds (gotta show my chia’s love… Who would be interested for another chia breakfast?  Let me know)

5. 1 tsp pure vanilla extract

6. 2 tsp carob powder (or unsweetened cocoa)

7. 1 tbsp beet puree

8. between 1/4-1/2 cup beet juice

9. 1 packet of stevia or any other sweetener

10. red food coloring if you want an even more bold color, up to you

11. cream cheese for topping… I hate cream cheese though, so I just used plain greek yogurt

12. chocolate chips, coconut, almonds, whatever else you want to top it off

Start by making your base oatmeal.  Same as always microwave water oats egg whites and chia seeds until just barely done.  (we’re going to be cooking more after adding the beets)

Put your beets in a microwave safe bowl, and add water to cover them.  Microwave for about 7 minutes, or until they’re soft and a lot of juice has been released.

Puree the whole pieces.  I refused to use my vitamix for this in fear the juice would stain, so I used my old lousy food processor.

Image

As you can see, it didn’t do a very good job.

That aside, add the puree, and the juice to the oatmeal.  Microwave for between 1 to 2 minutes, or until pretty much your desired consistency.  Add in the cocoa, and the stevia.  From there, add more beet juice or red food coloring depending on if it’s red enough or not for you.

Speaking of cooca, I bought a new brand yesterday, and not surprisingly I absolutely LOVE it.

Image

I’m going to have to use it in more recipes to be able to say whether or not I like it more than I like my dutch processed cocoa.

Once you are happy with your color and taste, top with whatever you would like!

Image

Like the heart? I thought it was super cute 🙂

This does really taste rich, thick, and decadent.  I could not even pick up a single trace of the beets.  Just make sure you really cook them down, and dilute the juice with water before you start cooking.

Question: What are you doing for Valentines Day?

Well I’m working a 7 hour shift… maybe my family will go out for dinner later.  Maybe not who knows!

2 thoughts on “Healthy Red Velvet Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

