Tropical Chia Seed Breakfast Sorbet

Have you ever found yourself in the dead of winter just cravinggg something summery or tropical?

Well, that’s exactly how I felt this morning.  After quite enjoying free tanning from tanning bed, all I can think about is summer starting.  What better way to feign this than making tropical dishes?

I had frozen mango banana and papaya, so making a sorbet was pretty much my best bet for creating something amazing.

I also had chia seeds (of course), and since I wanted to have a really balanced breakfast, I figured that would be perfect to add to incorporate a bit of protein.

To make it extremely balanced, I decided to top it all off with homemade coconut butter (click for recipe).

So altogether, for the sorbet you are going to need

1. diced frozen papaya and mango (you can substitute for any other frozen fruit)

2. 1 banana

3. 2 tsp chia seeds

4. a little bit of almond milk

5. 1 tsp coconut butter

When it comes to figuring out how much fruit to actually use, I recommend an equal ratio between the combination of papaya and mango and the banana.  The banana will be the star to form the sorbet, so you really want that to be present quantity wise.

I put all of my ingredients in a bowl the night before, and set it in the freezer

Image

When you’re ready to make this, thaw out the fruit just a little bit so it isn’t rock hard.  I put it in the microwave for about 30 seconds.  Do this in ten second intervals.

Simply place in your blender (or vitamix 🙂 ) and blend.

If it’s not quite forming a smooth, thick, and creamy sorbet, add a bit of almond milk.  It will work wonders, trust me.

Scoop out, and top with warmed coconut butter

Image

This is soooooo good and refreshing.  It doesn’t taste like super rich ice cream, so it is literally perfect for breakfast.  Plus how can you not like something with chia seeds in it? 🙂

Question: What is your favorite part about summer?

Mine is either the warmth, the seasonal fruit, being tan, going to the beach, or the summer clothes.  Okay, I have a lot of favorites 🙂

One thought on “Tropical Chia Seed Breakfast Sorbet

Leave a Reply

