Warm Vanilla Cream Oatmeal

I think that everyone is already aware of my peanut butter obsession.  I have no problem with admitting this.  I do think I have to admit about another obsession I have that isn’t quite as accepted in my chocoholic family.

I absolutely adore vanilla… 9 times out of 10 I would choose it over chocolate (unless paired with peanut butter or just in a plain chocolate bar) sorry mom…

Whether it’s cake, ice cream, shakes, drinks… I’d pick vanilla.

Now that you know this, you can imagine my excitement when I saw this at the grocery store.

Image

I needed more tea anyway… the fact that it was under three bucks gave me no reason not to get it 🙂

I took it home and tested it out.  Oh my god.  Heaven in a cup.  I’m serious.  And the aroma this produces… ugh its just simply amazing.

Drinking tea is extremely healthy.  It’s actually a superfood.  (Click here to read more about this).  This gave me even more of a reason to incorporate it into my breakfast.

All you are going to need is:

     1. 1/2 cup oats

     2. 1 tsp chia seeds

     3. 1 1/2 cups brewed vanilla tea (or any other flavor)

     4. 1/4 cup egg whites

     5. stevia, cinnamon, vanilla, and almond extract to add even more flavor

Start by steeping your tea.  I let mine steep for about an hour before I threw the bags out.

Image

Add in the oats, and microwave for about a minute and a half or until most of the water is absorbed.

Add in the vanilla

Image

And then the chia seeds (it’s important to add them the night before to achieve a really unique texture with your oatmeal).

Image

Stir together, and then set in the fridge overnight or at least for an hour or so.

In the morning, add in the egg whites

Image

Microwave until desired consistency.

Look at how much volume it takes up with only 1/2 a cup of oats

Image

That’s kind of insane

Transfer to your bowl, and add the cinnamon, stevia, and almond extract to taste.

Enjoy 🙂

Image

If this doesn’t leave you satisfied, I seriously do not know what will!

Question: What do you prefer, chocolate or vanilla?

3 thoughts on “Warm Vanilla Cream Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Optimum Post Workout Breakfast | Healthy Revelations

Leave a Reply

