Healthy Cookie Latte Breakfast Parfait

I’m going to start on a completely different topic… my microwave skills.  Random I know.

As anyone who has read probably any of my other posts, you would know that for the past 7ish weeks I have not had access to a kitchen.  Just a microwave and a refrigerator.

Sounds crazy right?  Well it is crazy!  It has provided me with some sick microwaving abilities though.

Last night I decided that since we only have a few days left before all this remodeling is done (THANK GOD!), I wanted to really push the boundaries of the microwave.

Image

All done in the microwave… all natural ingredients.

Pretty cool right?

Okay so back to the whole reason I came up with this breakfast idea.

Let’s talk a bit about memories.

How many times have we heard someone refer to a certain food as something that “brings them back to their childhood” or “reminds them of a better time?”  Probably pretty often.

I have heard it all the way from the most processed sugary cereals to a 100% homemade dish mastered by someones’ mother.

Recently, I have been thinking a lot about old summer memories.  The most recent one being how I used to go to this restaurant with my friends that is only open during the summer.  They are most known for their 100+ different unique flavors of milkshakes.  Even with such a variety I always stuck to the same one… the cookie latte.  I don’t even know when I started to get it or what made me want to try that particular one, but ever since I did, I haven’t been able to fully enjoy any other flavor from there.

I remember one particular week a few summers ago, I must have stopped there 5 times just because it was so good.  Needless to say, I felt pretty sick after that week (those one size milkshakes aren’t small).

Since they are not open at the moment, I decided I wanted to recreate the “cookie latte” flavor in a new, and preferably healthier way.

The recipe I came up with actually has a recipe in the recipe.

     1. Homemade cookie dough

     2. 1/4 cup oats

     3. 1/2 cup strong brewed coffee

     4. 1/4-1/2 cup almond milk (depending on how much chia seeds you use and how thick you like it)

     5. 2-3 tsp chia seeds

     6. about 1/4 cup of egg whites (I didn’t measure I just eye balled)

     7. coffee extract would be amazing i just didn’t have any 😦

     8. stevia (or sweetener) to taste

Okay the night before, combine the oats, coffee, coffee extract if using, stevia, and almond milk.  Put in the microwave for about 2 minutes or until most of the liquid is absorbed.  Add your chia seeds, and set into the fridge.  Or just wait for the chia seeds to absorb the rest of the liquid.

Image

In the morning, add egg whites until an almost cookie dough like consistency.  Microwave for another 2 or so minutes just to make sure the whites are cooked.

Microwave your cookie dough for 45 seconds to a minute.  I did this because I think chocolate chip cookies are the best right out of the oven… you know, when the chocolate chips are a bit melted 🙂

Layer in glass/ bowl/ mug/ container/ whatever of choice.

Image

Cookie Latte Nirvana… end of story 🙂

Question: What’s your favorite childhood food/ dish?

Besides this, mine are my dad’s pancakes (I talk more about this here)

One thought on “Healthy Cookie Latte Breakfast Parfait

Leave a Reply

