Cookies and Ice Cream for Breakfast??

Yes you read that title right.  And yes, it’s good for you.  How is this possible though?  Patience… we’ll get there 🙂

First off, I want to talk about the kitchen again.

Yesterday was the first day I was able to begin moving my supplies into the play station room.  (Yes we have a room we can throw my dad and brother… we all know how annoying it can get when they talk… if that’s what you’d call it… to the other players).

Lucky for me, my parents decided to give me my own shelf to keep my stuff on.  I am very picky about all my things being in the same place.

This is how it looks so far

Image

All of those plastic bags on the bottom still need a mason jar home.  I definitely need a bigger size though.  I didn’t realize how narrow the ones I purchased were.

Image

I told you I love peanut butter 🙂

So back to cookies and ice cream.

This is actually one of the simplest recipes you can make.  There are only 3 ingredients for the entire thing.

For the cookies, you are going to need

     1. 1/2 a banana

     2. 1/4 cup oats

and for the ice cream:

     1. 1 1/2 frozen banana (we’re not going to be using all of this, it just makes it blend easier and thicker)

     2. 2 tbsp any peanut butter (you can add more or less according to your taste.  This is just to add balance and flavor to the whole meal)

Image

I used a cinnamon raisin peanut butter by Peanut Butter and Co.  I absolutely adore this stuff.

Let’s start with the cookie since I wrote that recipe first 🙂

You don’t need a blender for this, I just like the uniformity it gives the batter.

If you are using a blender, chop up the half banana, put in the oats, and blend.  You only have to do this for a few seconds because it comes together quickly.

OH! Make sure your banana is ripe!!  This adds more sweetness and actually makes it easier to digest.

Form into little cookies

Image

Little cuties :).  I placed these in the fridge overnight, but this isn’t at all necessary.

When ready to eat, make the ice cream.

Simply put the diced frozen banana and peanut butter into a vitamix, food processor, or blender.  Blend until an ice-creamy texture.  Scoop out as much as you are going to want.  I used about half, and put the rest into the freezer.

Put the cookies in the microwave for about a minute.  I’ve made these cookies in the oven before, and they are sooooooooo good.  I actually prefer this I just can’t at the moment.

If you are going to use an oven, bake them at 350 for 10-13 minutes or until they feel like a cookie texture.  You’ll know what I mean in the moment.

Image

Cookies and ice cream!

Image

Ugh so good!!

Get creative!  You can add cinnamon, chocolate chips, raisins, or whatever else you want to the cookies.  Same goes for the ice cream.  Add any frozen fruit, flavored peanut butter, cinnamon, etc.  The possibilities are quite endless, and it’s one of those things that are hard to mess up.

Question: What’s your favorite ice cream + cookie combination? 

You really can’t go wrong with a classic chocolate chip cookie and vanilla ice cream.  Maybe you could try making my ice cream in this recipe without the peanut butter and my homemade cookie dough.  Now THAT would be amazing!

One thought on “Cookies and Ice Cream for Breakfast??

  1. Pingback: Healthy Chocolate Hazelnut Dip | Healthy Living Revelations

Leave a Reply

