Popeye’s Breakfast (Green Monster Overnight Oats)

Do you ever have weeks where you just feel… beyond stressed?  These past few days for me have been the most stressful days for me in a long LONG time.  I won’t bother getting into details, but I do want to talk about balance.

Sometimes, we get caught up in trying to be the best or at least make no mistakes.  Being in this mindset literally 24-7 can really get the best of you.  I’m the kind of person where even when I’m alone I’ll be planning and problem solving and pretty much just stressing myself out when there’s nothing to be stressed about. While in the moment it seems like it won’t do anything, eventually you get to the point where it hits you and it hits you hard.

Just because this happens though doesn’t give us a reason to stop our life and take a break.  Even though this is what’s going to feel natural, sometimes we need to find other ways to vent and take out our stresses.  It is important to get your emotions out, but be very careful it’s at the right place and the right time.  There’s a time to be sad, and a time you need to be on your game.

I honestly don’t know where I am going with this I just kinda wanted to address it.  Life really is a balancing act.  Sometimes it’s a lot easier to say you’ll be able to get through something than it is in the actual moment.  When this happens we need to be able to stop, re-evaluate, and get ourselves together again.  Find a place where you can get your anger out and find your center again.  For me this is doing pilates, and what i’m doing right now, blogging.  Finding hobbies such as this isn’t easy though.  Be open to opportunities.  You really never know what you’re going to find.

Speaking of being open to things.  Let’s get back on topic and talk about this recipe.

I NEEDDDD you to be open to accepting this.  It looks really scary and disgusting not going to lie.  Looks are deceiving though.  This is soooooooo so so so so so so good, and I can’t believe I’ve never actually tried it before.

For those of you who research recipes as much as I do, you have probably come across a recipe for a green monster, or even these exact Green Monster Overnight Oats.

This is probably one of the only recipes I have found on multiple blogs that has not been altered once.  Every single blogger has left it the same and saw no need to change the ratio of the ingredients or even the ingredients themselves.

That does not happen often at all.

I personally found this recipe on the blog: Oh She Glows.  I think even she found it from someone else though.  It’s been around a long time

I found this recipe awhile ago.  It was one of those things I said in the back of my head “I really should try this.”  I never got up the want to try it though… Maybe because of the way it looks?  I mean we do eat with our eyes first.  I’ll admit when scrolling through pinterest, I pick recipes that I look at based on the picture.  Is this a good method? Maybe not, but hey that’s how it is 🙂

This one never looks good to say the least.

But it is 🙂

Okay so the recipe itself is

1. 1 large ripe banana (the larger the better)

2. 1 cup almond milk

3. 1 1/2 tbsp chia seeds

4. 1/3 cup oats

5. 1 large handful of spinach (yes, spinach)

Blend everything in a blender except the chia seeds.  Blend until it’s a smoothie like consistency.

Image

Yes… I know it’s green.  I promise you you can’t taste the spinach though.  I promise.

Add the chia seeds, and then transfer into a sealed container, and then let them sit overnight or at least until thickened.

Image

In the morning, literally all you have to do is eat.  I topped mine with a strawberry and a peach slice

Image

I never ever EVER thought I would like overnight oats since I love hot oatmeal so much.  This has completely changed my mind though.  I’d like to try some with chobani greek yogurt since they have like a million delicious flavors.  Let me know if you’d be interested in this.  I could do like a week of all chobani recipes or something.

Question: What’s the weirdest food you’ve ever tried before?

I’m not all that adventurous to be honest.  I like tofu 🙂

3 thoughts on “Popeye’s Breakfast (Green Monster Overnight Oats)

  1. Wow you made it look really tasty with the fruit on top 🙂 Definitely changes the appearance! To be honest, Dragon Fruit is the weirdest thing I’ve ever eaten. 😀

  2. Pingback: Black Cherry Overnight Oats | Healthy Revelations

Leave a Reply

