Chocolate Chia Yogurt Breakfast Sundae

Lately, I have been noticing an annoying trend.  When people use chia seeds, they always use liquid.  Now, you probably are pretty confused at that statement (maybe even made a weird face 🙂 )  But think about it.  Chia seeds are known for their ability to absorb up to nine times their weight.  Why should we limit that to only using runny liquids?  Why not use something with more thickness and texture?

So I wonder.  What would happen if we just mixed regular chia seeds with yogurt and only yogurt?  No oatmeal, no water, no milk.  Just the chia’s and the yogurt.

The other day when I was at the grocery store, a yogurt I somehow had never run across before caught my eye.  It was oikos’s chocolate greek yogurt.  Something just clicked in my head when I looked at it.  I had been looking for something to have just a slight chocolatey taste to it lately.  Something that wouldn’t overpower me with chocolate, but almost leave me feeling refreshed.

This could be my answer.

To put my creation together, I took 1/2 a cup of the chocolate yogurt and 1 tbsp of chia seeds.

ImageI mixed them together

Image

And then let them to sit overnight.

In the meantime, I diced up a banana and set it in the freezer.

Image

(You can probably guess where I’m going with this one)

I covered the yogurt mixture, and placed that in the fridge to thicken overnight.

In the morning, I was pleased to find this:

Image

Extra super thick and creamy chia yogurt 🙂

I topped it with a handful of dark chocolate almond granola

Image

And whipped up my banana in my vitamix to make healthy banana ice cream.

Image

I would describe this as decadent ice cream with a cool thick chocolate fudge.  And then of course that extra crunch to tie it all together 🙂

Question: What’s your favorite ice cream sundae?

Mine would have to be the one from coldstone.  All lovin’ no oven.  Either that or the peanut butter sundae from abbotts.  Both extreme weaknesses of mine 🙂

Leave a Reply

