Elvis Inspired Healthy Fried Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

I remember back in middle school, whenever I would come home from school, I would make myself a fried peanut butter and banana sandwich.  That was one of those things that I would look forward to when I would come home at the end of the day.

For some reason I stopped making them though.  Knowing me it’s probably because I got tired of them.  (I always get sick of things rather fast in regards to food).  I never did get back to making them.

Until now 🙂

I wanted to make a healthier version though… I wasn’t about to bring out the thick white bread and hydrogenated peanut butter again :).

Instead I decided to use

1. 1 tbsp of my all natural lower calorie peanut butter

2. 1 100 calorie whole wheat sandwich thin

3. 1/4 of a sliced banana

To make it kind of like a french toast sandwich, I threw together a quick batter of

1. almond milk

2. egg whites

3. cinnamon

4. butter extract

Image

Honestly, I didn’t measure any of these.  You just need enough to cover the bread so it can soak for a bit.

Slice your bread, and cover each side with the peanut butter.

Image

Put the sides back together, and soak in the batter 30 seconds on each side.

Image

Heat up your skillet, and spray with pam.  The higher the heat, the less the peanut butter will melt. I only wanted mine to be slightly warm on the inside, so I left it on high heat.

Now for the banana.  I didn’t want my banana to get caramelized, so I started by cooking my sandwich with just the peanut butter.

Image

And right before it was almost done, I added the banana on top of one side.

Image

If you want, you can eat this like regular french toast and top with maple syrup or sugar or whatever else.

IMG_2600

Since this was my lunch, I decided to leave it as it was, and it is soooooooooooooooooooo good. There is the perfect amount of sweetness and melt-ness and just amazingness throughout the whole sandwich 🙂

Elvis would be proud 😀

Question: What is your favorite sandwich from your childhood?

Mine is either this or the fried bolonga sandwiches with ketchup my dad used to make (random I know)

2 thoughts on “Elvis Inspired Healthy Fried Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

  1. Pingback: Healthy Cranberry Pistachio French Toast | Healthy Revelations

Leave a Reply

