Identical to Tiramisu, Healthy Breakfast

Every once in awhile, I experiment with something extremely unique, and it blows me away.  It’s the best feeling when something that could turn out absolutely disgusting turns out even more amazing and authentic than you ever could have expected it to be.

I had this experience today 🙂

Ever since I started this blog, I have wanted to do a tiramisu recipe.  It is one of my all time favorite desserts, and whenever it’s on the dessert menu when I go out, I have to get it.

(I think I’d even get it over a peanut butter dessert… it’s that good)

After weeks of researching recipes other people came up with for tiramisu breakfasts, I just wasn’t content.

They were mostly all overnight oats, and I know the texture of overnight oats isn’t the texture of tiramisu.  Even though I am sure the recipes were really good, I just wanted to do something that would make you think you were eating tiramisu (which is not easy to do let me tell you).

The other day, I found this bad boy

Image

I had previously bought coffee flavored pudding to make a tiramisu recipe, but I knew that this would be 100 times better.

For one it’s healthier, and how can you go wrong with coffee AND chocolate… both of which are components in tiramisu.

I also remembered my banana bread breakfast recipe.  The texture reminded me a lot of the soaked lady fingers in tiramisu, so I figured why not try adapting that?

You are going to need

    1. 1/3 cup coffee flavored yogurt (or one container of the chobani coffee and dark chocolate yogurt)

     2. 1/4 cup strong brewed coffee

     3. 1/4 cup almond milk

     4. 1 cup oat bran or any other flaky cereal (I used Nature’s Path Organic Oatbran)

Image

     5. stevia to taste (I used about 1 1/2 packets)

     6. 2 tsps high quality cocoa powder

     7. a couple drops of vanilla extract

     8. a couple drops of almond extract

Simply place all of these ingredients into your blender, and blend.  Set in a bowl and let sit until thickened.  I let mine sit overnight.

When you’re ready to eat, prepare my healthy whipped cream.  Only add in 1- 2 tsps of cocoa powder.

Pour on top of the tiramisu base, and you are done!!

Image

I really recommend stirring this all in together because the cream takes on that creamy texture of the mascarpone, and the chocolate and coffee flavors burst through just the right amount.  If you ever EVER have an extremely strong tiramisu craving, you have my word that this will satisfy that immediately!

Question: What dessert do you HAVE to have when you go out?

As I said tiramisu all the way 🙂

7 thoughts on “Identical to Tiramisu, Healthy Breakfast

  1. Pingback: Daily Blog- Day 22: Top 10 Recipes | Healthy Living Revelations

Leave a Reply

