Healthy Cranberry Pistachio French Toast

Sunday morning rain is falling.. okay not really, but who knows who sings those lyrics? 🙂

It is Sunday though, and since I don’t have work and it’s my rest day, I figured I should make something really comforting.

After making my Elvis Inspired Sandwich, I couldn’t get french toast off my mind.

Hence this recipe 🙂

It’s a pretty basic french toast recipe, and I’m pretty sure we have all made french toast at least once in our lives, so I’m not going into too much detail on how to make this.

You are going to need

1. 2 pieces of cinnamon raisin Ezekiel bread

2. egg whites

3. almond milk

4. butter extract (optional but recommended)

5. cinnamon

6. Homemade Pistachio Butter

7. dried cranberries

Image

Image

Along with a skillet at pam and such… necessities for french toast

Start by making your batter.  I just eyeball how much liquid to use, and then sprinkle some cinnamon in and about 1 tsp of butter extract.  (i’d say use about 1/4 cups each of whites and milk).

Okay here is where things get a bit different.

Microwave your bread for about 30 seconds.  Ezekiel bread is naturally a tougher bread.  I find that microwaving it before putting it in the batter helps it to absorb more and result in a more decadent tasting french toast.

Soak each piece for 30 seconds on each side.

Image

Transfer to the pan

Image

Cook until it’s your own desired level of doneness.  I like mine to be kinda browned, but not black.

Image

Spread on the pistachio butter, and top with the cranberries

Image

I’m a loser I know 🙂

I want to take a second to point out my mug.  It’s actually from one of my favorite places in the world, Skaneateles.  My family has been going there every summer for as long as I can remember.  It’s one of those places that I can go to and feel more free than anywhere else.

Question: Do you have any places like this?

2 thoughts on “Healthy Cranberry Pistachio French Toast

Leave a Reply

