Healthy Homemade Pistachio Butter

It’s no secret that pistachios are extremely good for you.  (You can find out why by clicking here).

It’s also no secret that when you go to the grocery store, you can buy soooo many different varieties of nut butter.  From peanut butter to almond butter.  Even things like sunflower butter and believe it or not, cookie butter!

Quite rarely do you ever find pistachio butter… at least I never have before.

Even though you can purchase it on amazon, I became curious to WHY it’s not a more common thing.  I mean there’s nothing wrong with pistachios, and they are a nut, so they do have the ability to be made into a butter.

Regardless, I wanted it.  🙂

I didn’t want to just stick to the old take pistachios and grind them.  I wanted to add a little extra something.

The particular day that I was debating what to add, I was watching an old Good Eats episode (let me know if you miss these too).  The particular episode was about combining sweet flavors with salty flavors, and the magic that can occur when you put both together.

In my opinion, pistachios naturally are a very salty nut.  So what does that mean?  I needed a sweet.  What better natural sweetness than banana?  It blends easily while making the recipe if anything more balanced than it was to begin with.  (Due to the fact I added in a carb source).

Perfect 🙂

All you are going to need is

1. 1 cup of shelled pistachios

Image

(this is just my jar of pistachios… I didn’t use all of these, just a cups worth)

     2. 1 banana

Start by making your pistachio butter.  Even using my vitamix, this good me a good 10-15 minutes to do.

Image

Vitamix in action 🙂

Make sure to stop and scrape down the sides and underneath the blades frequently.  It helps the process go by quicker.

When it’s in the consistency of peanut butter, add your banana.  Blend until totally combined.  Taste here, and if you want to add more banana go ahead.  I thought this had the perfect hint of mysterious sweetness though.  You would never guess there was a banana in it, and you could still very easily taste pistachio.

Jar it, and place it in the fridge to cool and thicken some.

Image

Anddddddd you’re done!! How easy is that??

Now you can use it to top anything from ice cream to sandwiches… even to French Toast!

Question: What is your favorite unique nut butter?

I think this is my new favorite to be totally and completely honest.

3 thoughts on “Healthy Homemade Pistachio Butter

  1. Pingback: Healthy Cranberry Pistachio French Toast | Healthy Revelations

  2. Pingback: Homemade Chia Seed Cranberry-Orange Jam | Healthy Revelations

  3. Pingback: Sprouted Grain Pretzel Puffs?? | Healthy Revelations

Leave a Reply

