Homemade Dried Cranberries

One thing I love about cranberries is their tartness.  Unfortunately, the only ones you can generally get at the store are the super sweet ones.  Especially when it comes to adding cranberries to baked goods, I often find myself wishing I had a dried cranberry that didn’t have anything added to it.

Now, I know many people out there don’t like the tartness of cranberries.  This recipe can be made sweet as well, so I’ll let you know what to do when we get to that stage.

All you are going to need is.

1. 1 bag fresh cranberries

2. If you’re planning on sweetening them, you’ll need any sweetener like honey, sugar, stevia, etc.

Start by rinsing off your cranberries

Start by boiling two cups of water in a large saucepan.  Then, cover the pan and turn the heat off while the cranberries sit.

I let them be for about twentyish minutes, and when they started to feel like they were almost done (the skins were about to burst), I turned it on low.  Keep them like this until they are super soft and squishy.

Remove and strain.

Image

At this point, toss in your sweetener if you are planning on sweetening.  Then, transfer them onto a baking sheet.  I only used half for this.  The other half I made a jam with.  Bake in the oven at 150 for 6 hours.  My oven can only go as low as 170, so I just left it at that.  It still took about 6 hours.

Bake until they feel like dried cranberries.

Even though it’s a long baking process, it’s pretty easy to do, and it’s definitely worth it.  I love adding these to protein bars and cookies.

Image

Question: How do you prefer cranberries? Tart or sweet?

4 thoughts on “Homemade Dried Cranberries

  1. Pingback: Homemade Chia Seed Cranberry-Orange Jam | Healthy Revelations

  2. Pingback: All Natural, Low Calorie Protein Bars | Healthy Revelations

  3. Great idea – can’t wait to do this! Been searching high and low for low sugar or no sugar added dried cranberries…I feel like they must exist but I can’t find them anywhere!!!

Leave a Reply

