Chocolate Peanut Butter Recovery Shake… Adaptable for Strength and Cardio Training

I cannot express enough how important it is to fuel your muscles after you workout.  Especially if you’ve broken down any muscle, it is extremely important to eat between 30 minutes to an hour (some people say up to 2 hours, but i try to not wait this long) so your muscles can rebuild.  More importantly, so they can rebuild STRONGER.

To do this, you need to have something that is obviously high in protein (which builds muscle).  One of the most popular ways to incorporate this is by making protein shakes with whey protein.  Many people I know have complained that they taste bad though.  That’s simply because they don’t know the right way to make them 🙂

Well if you are one of these people, I am going to tell you today, in my opinion, the best recipe for protein shakes.  The main reason I love this recipe so much is because I can adapt it according to my workout.  (I’ll explain don’t worry)

All you are going to need are the following

1. 1 handful of ice

2. cold water (I used about 1 cup and a half.  If you don’t have guar gum though, use milk to make it creamy, and use less).

3. cinnamon, stevia, and vanilla to taste

4. 2 tbsp chocolate PB2 or peanut butter

Okay this is where you’re going to have to look at your workout.  If you had a very intense strength workout, then add the peanut butter.  Your body is going to need the extra calories, fat, and protein regular peanut butter offers to rebuild your muscles.  If you are doing this, then add 2 tbsp of cocoa powder as well to keep it chocolate peanut butter themed.

You can use regular peanut butter too if you just did a cardio session, but you could also sub for chocolate flavored PB2

5. 1-2 scoops whey protein.  This will also depend on whether or not you strength train and your protein needs.  Use more if you need more simple as that.

Image

My victims for the day 🙂  I really wish I had chocolate protein powder, but alas I only had vanilla.

     6. 1/4-1/2 tsp guar gum (this makes it super SUPER thick and creamy… I really recommend investing in this if you make a lot of milkshakes or smoothies).

Okay this is an easy one to make.

Combine

and blend

done.

Image

I think that’s what’s so great about protein shakes, they can be made in a matter of minutes.

Plus that and they taste really good… and look how much you get for just one!

Question: What’s your favorite flavor of protein powder?

I have a casein cookie dough flavor which I loveeeeeeee.  I only have it at night though since casein is a slow digesting protein.

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Recovery Shake… Adaptable for Strength and Cardio Training

  1. Pingback: Gooey Chocolate Peanut Butter Sandwich | Healthy Revelations

  2. Pingback: Optimum Post Workout Breakfast | Healthy Revelations

  3. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared
    to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of.

    I say to you, I certainly get irked while people
    consider worries that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people could take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  4. I leave a response each time I like a article on a site
    or if I have something to valuable to contribute
    to the conversation. Usually it’s a result of the sincerness displayed in the article I read. And on this post Chocolate Peanut Butter Recovery Shake Adaptable for Strength and Cardio Training | Healthy Living Revelations. I was actually excited enough to create a leave a responsea response 😉 I actually do have 2 questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Is it only me or do a few of the remarks look
    like coming from brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if
    you are writing at other social sites, I’d like to keep up with everything fresh you have to post. Could you list every one of your public sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    http://kalanka.org/wiki/Index.php

Leave a Reply

