Healthy Reeses Breakfast Cupcakes

Yes, you read the title right.  These are rich chocolate cupcakes filled with peanut butter.

And yes, they are healthy.

I know that’s kind of unheard of, but it can be done!

My gramma inspired me to create a recipe like this due to the fact that we’ve been talking a lot about reeses lately 🙂

I adjusted this recipe from Dashing Dish.

What I used includes:

1. 1 3/4 cup oats

2. 3 egg whites

3. 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa

4. 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

5. 1 tsp vanilla extract

6. 1 tsp pure chocolate extract (yeah I went there 🙂 )

7. 1/4 cup this yogurt

Image

8. 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt

9. 1/2 tsp cream of tartar

10. 1 1/2 tsp baking powder

11. 1 1/2 tsp baking soda

12. 1/4 tsp salt

13. 1 cup hot water

14. 1/2 cup baking stevia or 1 cups worth of any sweetener or regular sugar

15. 1/4 cup homemade chocolate chips 

Start by combining all of your ingredients except for the chocolate chips.

I just combined mine all into my vitamix.

Look what happened when I added the water on top of the baking soda

Image

Don’t breathe in when you do this… it’s really quite unpleasant.

Once everything is combined, stir in half of the chocolate chips, and then fill 12 regular sized cupcakes.  Top with the rest of the chocolate chips.

I baked mine for 10 minutes at 350F.

Image

For the mini cupcakes, put about 1 tsp of batter into each mini cupcake liner.

Then, put in a dollop of any flavor peanut butter you want and cover with more batter.

I made 9 regular, 6 white chocolate, 6 maple, and in 3 I put in more of my homemade chocolate 🙂

Image

That was one of my finished pans.  I filled 2 total.

These you really want to watch when you bake.  They only took me about 5 or 6 minutes at 350F.

Image

Yay all done! 😀

Image

Image

And yes, these are healthy enough for breakfast!!

Question: What reeses product do you like best?

I love the pumpkins, and easter eggs they come out with.  I think it’s because they add more peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

