Sweet Potato Protein Cookie Dough Bites

The other day, I had the most bizarre experience in line at the grocery store.  The lady behind me noticed that I was buying sweet potatoes, and proceeded to ask me what I did with them.

How I responded?  I eat them…

Of course I knew she knew that, I just didn’t know how else I was supposed to respond haha.

We continued to talk though, and I offered her some suggestions.  It made me realize that I use sweet potatoes in a lot of ways that normal people don’t.  I just never thought twice about it.

Talking to her inspired me to share with you some of my favorite ways to transform and use sweet potatoes since they are sooooooooo good for you.

One way is through the creation of sweet potato protein bites.

Now, these I have been perfecting for sometime now, and there are two ways that I like to have them.  The first is either with PB2, and the second is with protein powder.  Use which ever you think tastes best, but both are good.

Total, you’ll need:

1. 1/2 a cooked sweet potato (cook between 4 to 6 minutes in the microwave) that has been set in the fridge for a few hours.  This is extremely important.  It’s what makes it taste like cookie dough and it’s what makes it easy to work with.

2. either pb2 or protein powder (2 tbsp pb2, 1/2-1 scoop protein powder)

3. cinnamon and sweetener to taste.  I use a lot of cinnamon.  I think it pairs beautifully with sweet potatoes.

Peel your sweet potato.  (eat the skin it’s really good for you)

Then mash it with the other ingredients until a workable dough is formed.

Image

Sure, you could use a fork, but I just used my hands… you’ll be forming it into balls anyways.

Image

It really could not be much easier, and it’s the perfect blend of carbs and protein for a post workout on the go snack!

Question: What’s the most unique way you have sweet potatoes?

I’d say this might be mine, but I have a few other tricks up my sleeve 🙂

Leave a Reply

