The Perfect Healthy Peanut Butter Ice Cream (no banana!)

One of the requests I have received is to make an ice cream that is healthy… but doesn’t have any banana or other fruit in it.  All of these “healthy ice creams” we generally see are creamy because of the use of a frozen banana.  There is a way to make it without though.

I have been working on perfecting this for awhile now, and I finally think I’ve come up with a recipe that I can honestly say I like BETTER than normal peanut butter ice cream.  Yes, better.

I think the trick is the use of guar gum and xanthan gum.  If you don’t have these though, I recommend using a milk creamier than the almond milk I used.  Maybe regular cows milk, coconut milk, or rice milk?  Experiment with what works best for you and your means.  If you follow this exactly though, I promise you, you will not be disappointed.

You are going to need

1. 1 cup almond milk

2. pinch of salt (only if peanut butter is unsalted)

3. 2 tbsp peanut butter… okay I want to make a note real quick here.  Make sure you’re using a peanut butter than is by far your favorite.  I think this has been one of my big mistakes for my past attempts.  Yes, all peanut butters are good, but we all have that one brand that is especially sinful and addictive.  I have been avoiding using my version of this mainly because whenever I start having it, it’s hard for me to control myself.  I decided to go ahead though because this does make a ton of ice cream, and in the end it made all the difference.

4. 1 tsp guar gum separated, only a pinch of xanthan gum

5. NuNaturals vanilla stevia drops (or vanilla and sweetener to taste)

It also helps to have a really high quality blender.  I used a vitamix.  If you don’t have one, I can’t promise you it’s going to turn out perfect.  It might be more of a milkshake-y taste.

Okay start this process either a few hours before you’re ready to eat or the night before.

Blend together your almond milk and your peanut butter.  For those curious, these are the brands I used.

Image

Then add in 1/2 tsp guar gum and the pinch of xanthan gum.  Blend until creamy.

Taste, and then add in your vanilla and sweetener.  Taste again and adjust.

Now, pour into either an ice cube tray or since my parents threw ours away (!!), I just used a muffin tin.

Image

Set in the freezer until hardened.

When it’s set pry out the cubes.  I used a sharp knife to do this.  I wouldn’t recommend risking putting it in the microwave.  I’ve done this before and ended up with half the cubes melting… then what do you have… Peanut butter milk?

Image

Blend in your vitamix starting on low and slowly increasing to the highest speed.  Then blend on high.

As it’s starting to come together, add in your other 1/2 tsp guar gum.  Then taste and add more sweetener and vanilla if necessary.

Blend until fully combined and creamy.

That’s it you’re done!

Now you can top it whatever you’d like or do what I did and make it into a healthy breakfast! (click here for recipe).

Image

Question: What’s your favorite brand of peanut butter? 

Mine is this one hands down.  There’s another kind similar to this my grocery store also sells.  That ones definitely addictive too.  So much so, I don’t even keep it in the house!

3 thoughts on “The Perfect Healthy Peanut Butter Ice Cream (no banana!)

  1. Pingback: A New Take on Amaranth: Popped Amaranth Ice Cream Breakfast Bowl | Healthy Revelations

  2. This looks so good! I can’t believe how creamy yours looks. Mine’s always chunky and icy. I’ll definitely give this recipe a try! Thanks!

  3. Pingback: Homemade Healthy Vanilla/ Cookie Dough Ice Cream | Healthy Revelations

Leave a Reply

