Healthy Creamsicle Ice Cream

How awesome does a satisfying cool creamy creamsicle sound right now?

Probably pretty amazing… or at least to me it does.

Normally, I’m not a huge fan of orange or orangey flavors, but when it comes to a really good creamiscle flavored ice cream… Well, there’s not much better.

Making it is pretty easy too.  All you’re going to need is

1. 1/4 cup almond milk

2. 1 large orange, peeled

3. 1 tsp almond extract

4. 1 tsp vanilla extract

5. a pinch of nutmeg

6. 4 ice cubes

7. vanilla flavored stevia or sweetener to taste

8. 1/4 tsp guar gum

Image

Combine all these ingredients in a blender

Image

and pour into an ice cube tray (or in my case mini muffin tin).  Then put in the freezer until frozen

Image

When ready to eat, blend in a vitamix or other high powered blender with 1/4 tsp guar gum and 1/8 tsp xanthan gum.  These will make it super super thick and creamy.ImageSooooooo so so so so good!!!!

Question: what’s your favorite orange flavored thing?

I think this is one of the only things for me.  Otherwise, not a fan… but i love oranges!

10 thoughts on “Healthy Creamsicle Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Dreamy, Creamy Healthy Orange Julius Breakfast Parfait | Healthy Revelations

  2. Will this work without the xanthan gum and guar gum? I don’t have either but I finally got a good food processor that will work for ice cream! Yay!

    • You sure can!

      It won’t be as thick and creamy though. It’s really what makes it taste exactly like ice cream.

      I would really recommend getting them if you plan on making a lot of smoothies or ice cream recipes since you barely use any at a time so they last forever

      • Thanks! I looked up online how much they are and they are only about $4 each. I will definitely be buying them soon. My creamsicle ice cubes are in the freezer now! I can’t wait to try it! By the way, I tried to make coconut butter with a fresh coconut, but I think I put it in the oven too long. Do you think it’s really necessary to toast it before processing? I’d like to try it again. Coconut are 4 for $5 which is much cheaper than buying coconut butter or even shredded coconut.

        • I have never heard to toast it before. I’ve always just bought the unsweetened shredded coconut in bulk and threw it in my vitamix. It does take awhile, and a lot depends on the climate. If it’s warmer or more humid, it will be much more liquidy. It’s really testy.

  3. I made this today, and it was soooo good and actually creamy! Do you think you could put the nutritional information on your recipes please? I always like to see how many calories are in what I eat. If you can’t, that’s fine. It’s just a suggestion 🙂 Thanks!

    • I’ve debated doing this before… honestly, I think that would drive me insane. I really try hard to focus more on the quality of what I’m having, and giving my body sufficient proteins carbs and fats rather than the number of calories.

      I strongly feel that weight loss is a bigger picture than just the number of calories. It’s about choosing what’s good for your body and actually listening to your body… a lot easier said than done.

      Another way to look at it is do you really want to be counting the calories in what you’re eating every single day for the rest of your life? This kind of takes good whole food to a level where you can’t even really enjoy them anymore because you’re so focused on the amount of ENERGY it’s going to give you.

      I will admit, I actually prefer when bloggers post recipes. I think it’s that little devil inside of us that wants to define food as “good” or “bad”

      Maybe one day in the future I’ll post the calorie content, but for now, if the recipes says low calorie, generally I’ve made it for people looking for low calorie options.

      Besides that, my recipes are really focused on being satisfying yet balanced

      I know that was a really long answer, but it’s a topic I have a strong opinion on that I hope to share with other people.

      I am so glad you liked the recipe too! 🙂 I’d love any suggestions for other recipes or maybe even flavor combinations you loveeeeee or can’t live without

Leave a Reply

