Optimum Post Workout Breakfast

I have talked a lot about pre and post workout breakfasts through past posts of mine.

I decided I should put together the best breakfast for muscle repair and energy from a few of my easiest, and quickest recipes.

Before I tell you what this is, I just want to cover the bases for what should be included in a post workout breakfast.

1. Complex Carbs- for energy

2. Protein- for muscle rebuilding

I believe incorporating some fats are important too since they promote a feeling of being satiated. Just don’t exceed portion sizes.

Since your metabolism will be revving right after your workout, it’s important to eat about 30 minutes after.  Don’t let this time exceed 2 hours.

Your metabolism will be revving so fast that the majority of what you take in will actually be burned!  Why would you not take advantage of this opportunity?

For this breakfast, make

1. my post workout shake or my chocolate peanut butter post workout shake

and

2. my basic oatmeal recipe or for voluminous oats, use this recipe substituting water for the tea… or use the tea for extra flavor if you would like

The chia seeds, protein powder, and oats will provide the perfect balance of complex carbs, protein, and fats.

I topped my oatmeal off with some mixed berries and about 1 tbsp of sliced almonds.

Image

 Have this, and I promise your body will thank you! 🙂

Question: What’s your favorite post workout meal?

3 thoughts on “Optimum Post Workout Breakfast

  1. I love this! And I love this site, too! I’m ALWAYS looking for delicious post- workout snacks other than protein berry smoothies. PS I’m 19 so it’s really cool to see someone my age who is interested in health as much as I am and not be seen as a crazy dieter or something. Thanks!! Keep up the good work

    • aww thank you that means so much! 🙂 It’s really amazing how much you can do with healthy foods to make them taste good. There’s a whole world of delicious that most people are not aware of, and I love exploring it and sharing it. I’ll definitely keep coming up with more pre and post workout recipes especially because I get bored quick as well of all the general protein shakes

  2. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a colleague who had been conducting a little homework on this. And he actually bought me dinner because I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending some time to discuss this issue here on your site.

Leave a Reply

