Banana Almond Breakfast Quinoa

I found my new favorite breakfast!!!!

No I’m serious.  I like this better than my steel cut oats!!

Crazy right?

And what’s even crazier is the fact that it’s with a grain that I just didn’t like when I tried it plain.

Isn’t that weird how that works?

You probably already know what the grain is based on the title, but I’ll tell you anyways.

It’s quinoa! (pronounced keen-wah).

I have been wanting to love quinoa so badly especially because it’s the only grain that’s a complete protein.

I just didn’t like that it tasted… plant-like… if that makes sense.

It just didn’t sit well with me for a breakfast

Until now 🙂

You are going to need

1. 1/2 cup quinoa

2. 1 cup almond milk

3. 1/4 cup whipped egg whites or 2 egg whites

4. 1 mashed ripe banana

5. vanilla, stevia, and cinnamon to taste

6. 1 tbsp homemade almond butter… or just regular almond butter.  I just threw some almonds in my vitamix and ground them for about 10 minutes.

Image

The night before soak your quinoa in your almond milk.  This pretty much just makes it so they’ll cook faster.

Image

When you’re ready to eat, put your mix in a sauce pan, and boil on medium-high heat.

While you are waiting for it to boil, whip up your egg whites

Image

Once your quinoa boils, allow to simmer on medium/ medium-low heat.  Add in your mashed banana and egg whites

Image

Keep stirring until there is no more white left, and it is as thick as you’d like it.

Finally, stir in your almond butter and sweeten to taste.

Image

The almond butter absolutely makes it.  It add that slight nutty flavor that’s to die for.

it’s so filling, and fluffy, and thick, and creamy, and just amazing 🙂

Question: Have you ever tried quinoa? If so, what’s your opinion on it?

4 thoughts on “Banana Almond Breakfast Quinoa

  1. Pingback: How to Prep Fluffy Quinoa For the Work Week | Healthy Living Revelations

  2. Pingback: Superfood Saturday: Quinoa | Healthy Living Revelations

  3. Pingback: Daily Blog- Day 22: Top 10 Recipes | Healthy Living Revelations

Leave a Reply

