Homemade Healthy Magic Shell

Oh you know what I’m talking about.  That magical deliciousness that hardens the second it touches ice cream.

Yeah, that magic shell 🙂

It’s actually extremely easy to make, and a lot healthier to make at home than it is to buy.

We are using superfoods that are very calorie dense, so don’t think that you should be making a cup of this at a time all for you.  Actually, you would need a tonnnnn of ice cream for a cup of magic shell to harden, so if you’re eating that much ice cream at once, I don’t think that shell would really matter.  So go right on ahead if that’s the case 🙂

Okay maybe not

Now I’m rambling!

Ah okay back on topic.  As you know from my past post on coconut oil, it is soooooooo good for you.  If you are looking to incorporate it into your diet, this could be an extremely delicious way that tastes sinful 😉

All you are going to need is an equal amount of

1. coconut oil

2. cocoa powder

Image

I also read a lot of recipes that use melted chocolate chips, so I’m sure that would work too I just have never tried it so I’m not going to make any promises.

Now, since this was my first time ever making this, I only did about a teaspoons worth of each.  Especially because as you guys probably know, coconut oil isn’t the cheapest item at the grocery store.

It took me two tries to get this right.

The first time, I measured out the chocolate first and then stirred the coconut oil into that.  I’m thinking I got my ratios mixed up or something because it formed quite the chocolate ball.

Try two.

I measured out the melted coconut first, and slowly added a little bit of chocolate at a time until it was a syrupy homogeneous consistency.

This way DEFINITELY worked much better.  I had a lot more control over the way it turned out and it was a lot easier to manipulate the mixture.

Now, all you have to do is pour it on top of your ice cream

Image

MAGIC SHELL

Welcome back childhood 🙂

Question: What memories do you have of magic shells as a kid?

I remember we used to call it “dip” when we would go out for ice cream.  We would go after our soccer games, and I ALWAYS got cherry dip.  A few times I would be creative and go for blue raspberry or even cotton candy, but it was never ever as good as the cherry.  I’ll admit, I even tried peanut butter once and was disappointed!!!  That’s how much of an impression the cherry made on me 🙂

2 thoughts on “Homemade Healthy Magic Shell

  1. Pingback: Homemade Healthy Vanilla/ Cookie Dough Ice Cream | Healthy Revelations

  2. Pingback: All Natural Papaya Ice Cream With Instant Homemade Chocolate Chips | Healthy Living Revelations

Leave a Reply

