Homemade Healthy Vanilla/ Cookie Dough Ice Cream

Okay, so this is one of my recipes that is pretty much a combination of other recipes to make one amazing recipe 🙂

Let’s start off with the ice cream.  If you want a reference, check out my peanut butter ice cream.  Pretty much we’re going to be making the same thing here, just without peanut butter.  You could use it if you wanted though by all means.

You’ll need

1. 1/2 cup almond milk

2. 1/2 cup coconut milk (I used two different milks to make it creamier.  You can use any one milk or combination you want)

Image

     3. 3/4 tsp guar gum, split (I used more in this recipe than my peanut butter one… I think mainly because the peanut butter wasn’t included to make it creamier)

4. 1/4 tsp xanthan gum also split

5. pinch of salt

6. vanilla and sweetener to taste (I used a lot of both of these because I really wanted to get the vanilla ice cream flavor to shine… just taste as you go 😉 ).

Start off by mixing the milks (or milk), 1/4 tsp guar gum, and 1/4 tsp xanthan gum.  Put into an ice cube tray (or mini muffin tray in my case), and freeze.

Image

When it’s completely frozen, take the cubes out, and place in a high powered blender.  I used a vitamix.  I can’t promise this will work with regular blenders, but you can still probably get a good milkshakey treat.  Or just use more xanthan gum.

Add in the rest of the guar gum, xanthan gum, and then start your sweetening/ tasting party.

When it’s all good and creamy and yummy, scoop into a bowl.

You can eat it as is, or make it cookie dough flavored 🙂

To do this you’ll need to make cookie dough

I recommend either using

1. my homemade casein protein cookie dough balls

Image

or

2. my healthy homemade cookie dough

Image

I used the casein one since this was a night time treat for me, but you can use the other one if you don’t have the casein protein powder.

Simply top, and you’re good to go!

Image

Gah cookie dough!!!

Image

You can even get super crazy and make a magic shell!!

Image

Question: What brand of ice cream makes your favorite cookie dough flavor?

Ben and Jerrys half baked allllllll the wayyyyyyyy!!!

Leave a Reply

