Strawberry Banana Protein Smoothie

I tend to categorize flavor combinations into categories.  There are combinations meant for adults, adolescents, and finally, kids.

Adults tend to make me think of more sophisticated combinations such as

1. tomato mozzarella and basil

2. hazelnut and chocolate

3. lemon and poppyseed

Adolescents make me think of things like

1. pizza and french fries

2. macaroni and cheese with hot sauce

or for the typical college kid

3. fruit juice and alcohol

Now, when it comes to kids, anything with sugar…. and more sugar tends to come to mind.

There is one combination though that the majority of kids love that’s actually good for you!

And that is…

Strawberry and banana

Image

In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever found anyone that’s not liked this combination before… kids, adults, and adolescents alike.

So it would only make sense to incorporate these into a recipe right?

Well that’s exactly what I did here 🙂

Into an extremely tasty, thick, creamy, satisfying smoothie that only takes seconds to make.

All you are going to need is

1. 1 frozen banana

2. a handful of frozen strawberries

3. 1 scoop vanilla protein powder

4. stevia or sweetener to taste… I used about a half a packet of stevia, but you really don’t need much extra sweetness at all, the banana and strawberries contribute a lot of natural sugars

5. 1 cup of cold water or milk

I also put in a pinch of xanthan gum for extra thickness, but this is optional.  If you love thick smoothies though, this is my number one secret ingredient.

Throw all the ingredients into the blender (not literally)

and blend your heart out!

Pour into a glass

Image

And definitely enjoy 🙂

Question: What’s your favorite really unique flavor combination?

I want to say cranberry and orange even though that’s not really unique… does my broccoli and hot sauce love count?

7 thoughts on “Strawberry Banana Protein Smoothie

  1. Hi Kelly,

    I have a question for you. I was making your recipe last night that has steel cut oats, amaranth and Quinoa in it. My question is, do you use 1/4 C of each grain, or 1/4 C of all grains combined total?

    Thanks! Loving your recipes!

    David

    • The typical serving size is 1/4 cup of all the grains per person.

      Depending on how much staying power I’m looking to get out of the recipe, I’ll sometimes increase it to half a cup rather than 1/4th. Mainly I’ll do that on days I know I wont be able to eat again for potentially 6 hours.

      Adjust according to your lifestyle and dietary needs 🙂

      I’m glad you like the recipes! I’m always open for suggestions

  2. Pingback: The Trick to a Thick, Creamy Smoothie | Healthy Living Revelations

  3. Pingback: Daily Blog- Day 5: Work, and Smoothies | Healthy Living Revelations

  4. Pingback: Daily Blog- Day 7: Bikes, Christmas Music, and Pomegranate Jam | Healthy Living Revelations

Leave a Reply

