St. Patricks Day Healthy Breakfast: Popped Amaranth Cereal mixed with a Green Monster Inspired Cereal Cream

Happy St. Patricks Day my irish folks… and non-irish folks alike! 🙂

I myself am quite irish.  Actually my whole mom’s side of the family is very very irish.  My Uncle owns an irish pub, and my gramma pretty much lives in the definition of an irish community.  If any of you know what Tipperary Hill is, then you know I’m serious.

For these reasons, I kind of figured it was my duty to make an Irish themed recipe… and of course when I woke up I was inspired to making something… so breakfast it was!

Of course I needed the proper irish attire to make this

Image

The perfect excuse to wear my “kiss me i’m irish” shirt 🙂

Okay back on topic

So one common way to have popped amaranth is pairing it with a flavored “cereal cream.”  This is essentially a liquid to act as milk with the amaranth.

Personally, my favorite green drink is a green smoothie, so I decided to go with that.

To make it, you’re going to need

1. 1 frozen banana

2. a handful of frozen spinach

3. coconut extract

4. 1/2 tbsp more fiber stevia baking blend… or any other sweetener

5. 3/4 cup water or any other liquid

6. 1/2-1 tbsp melted coconut oil plus one banana to top it all off

Image

You’re also going to need

7. 1/4 cup dry amaranth

Start off by popping your amaranth

Then blend together all the ingredients in your smoothie.

Pour your amaranth into a bowl

Image

Then pour your smoothie on top

Image

Stir it all together along with one cut up banana

Top with your coconut oil

Image

And enjoy!

Card thanks to my lovely gramma 🙂

Question: What’s your favorite St. Patricks Day recipe?  

Along with this, I love irish soda bread.

Leave a Reply

