Homemade, Healthy Almond Joy Granola

So I’ve been searching for quite awhile now for a granola recipe to make.  I kind of ran into a dilemma though.  There were soooooooo many different recipes, but for every single one, there was something I didn’t like or would like to change.

Honestly, this began to get really frustrating, so I just stopped looking for awhile.

The other day though, I had a craving for almond joy flavored granola.  (Weird… I know).  After searching for what felt like forever with no luck, I almost gave up.  Until I had an idea.

Why not make my own recipe?

I knew exactly what I wanted to go into it, so what’s the worst that could happen?  It doesn’t turn out?

I decided to have a go

I mixed together the following

1. 2 cups oats

2. 1 cup slivered almonds

3. 1 cup coconut

4. 1/4 cup melted coconut oil

5. coconut extract

6. 1/4 cup honey

7. handful of dark chocolate covered cacao nibs

8. a pinch of salt

I just mixed everything together and spread it on two sheet pans covered with aluminum foil (parchment paper is probably better… I just keep forgetting to get more).

I baked it at 350 for about 20 minutes, stirring after the first 10 then every 5.  Next time, I’ll probably reduce the temperature to between 300 and 325.  Even though it did cook the way it was supposed to, the fact that there’s coconut in it resulted in a lot of tending to it.

IMG_9926

I’d like to make granola based on other popular candies… suggestions?

Question: What’s your favorite granola recipe?  If you don’t have one, try this one… you’ll have a new favorite 🙂

One thought on “Homemade, Healthy Almond Joy Granola

  1. Pingback: Creamy, Dreamy Dark Chocolate Coconut Chia Seed Breakfast | Healthy Revelations

Leave a Reply

