Pumpkin Oatless Oatmeal

I have been doing a lot of reading on oatless oatmeal lately.  For those of you that don’t know what this is, it’s essentially well… oatmeal without oats.

For some reason, the combination of flax seed with egg whites makes an oatmeal texture.

Yeah I don’t know why, but it does 🙂

Now, this concept seemed sooooooooo weird and strange to me.  To the point where I really didn’t even WANT to make it for breakfast because I thought: there is no way this could be good.

It is though… but I changed it up a bit from any other recipe I’ve seen.

You are going to need

1. 1/2 cup egg whites

2. 1/4 cup almond milk (or any other milk)

3. 1 1/2 tbsp ground flax seed

4. 1/2 tbsp chia seeds

*This is the first thing I did different from any other recipe I’ve seen.  Normally there aren’t any chia seeds, and there’s just 2 tbsps ground flax seed.  I just love the thickness chia seeds add, and well… chia seeds are kind of amazing 🙂 )

5. cinnamon, sweetener, and nutmeg to taste

6. 3 tbsp pumpkin puree

7. 1/2 a banana (optional)

8. 1/4 cup puffed wheat cereal or any other cereal (optional)

*Okay, these are my other adjustments.  One of the things I noticed from reading reviews of other recipes is the fact that the texture is just weird.  I could see exactly what they were referring to.  Without either of these (especially the cereal), It’s just I don’t even know… weird.  Once you add that cereal though, the perfect texture hits you.  You don’t have to add it if you don’t want to, but I strongly strongly recommend it… or at least have it lying around in case you think the texture is weird as well.  Who knows, maybe you’ll love it… I know plenty of people do.

Okay so combine all the ingredients except for the banana and cereal.

Heat on medium high heat, and keep whisking until it forms an oatmeal texture.  It only takes a few minutes.

IMG_1591

Transfer into a bowl

IMG_2056

and add your toppings

IMG_6672

Cereal is missing due to the fact I had the idea halfway through eating it.  🙂

Question: Have you ever tried a paleo recipe before?

This is my first legit one.  It’s kind of cool I think, and definitely delicious!

Leave a Reply

