Everything Happens for a Reason

I can say for sure that this past year has been the hardest year of my life.  Especially between the months of August and December.  During this point, I hit rock bottom so hard that… well I didn’t know what hit me (pun intended).  At this bottom, I could not picture any aspect of my life at that time being beneficial to my future.  Looking back now though, I can honestly say I wouldn’t have done it any other way, and even the most minor decisions I made have helped me get to where I am now.

One of the big ones actually has to do with this blog.

Okay… story time:

So last fall I was enrolled in college.  It was more of a decision based on what the norm was.  Deep down though I knew it wasn’t a good idea.

As a biochemistry major, I was taking chemistry, biology, precalculus, and english.  I’ll admit, I was really excited for all the classes (science nerd) except english.  I’ve never really struggled with English, I just found it boring in general.

This class ended up being one of my turning points… Mainly thanks to my professor.

He really taught us to take what we read, especially in regards to the media, and interrogate it to understand what it really is… and isn’t saying.  I began to apply this method in health and fitness articles I read online.  I would pick up on tips that seemed very rational, and more importantly, tips that could potentially be dangerous.  Even though at this time I was already interested in healthy living, this expanded my knowledge even more.  Without realizing it, my what I thought was just playing around on the computer turned into so much more.  It became me finally putting together what the optimum lifestyle is and how to actually live is.

My teacher gave me one more tool to really bring this all together.

This tool was in the form of a homework assignment… an assignment to blog every week.

Now, of course we had to connect the blog to the class, so it wasn’t as free reign as mine now, but it taught me how fulfilling it is to put your words into posts and receive feedback.

I never did get to finish this assignment.  Actually, I think I only was enrolled in the school long enough to post twice, but its’ impact was beyond significant.

Now you’re probably wondering why I didn’t stay in the class.  I’m not going to get into details about this… mainly because of how long of a story it is.  I did take a medical leave though.

This leads to the second decision that completely changed my life.  This actually has to do with the job I have now.

Where I work, you have to fill out an online application if you want to work there.  A few years ago, I filled out one for the one near me, but I never heard back from them.

After leaving school, I needed to look for a job.  I decided to apply again, but not to the same location.  After sending in the application, I actually got a call… from the location I applied to YEARS ago.

Apparently submitting the one application also resubmitted the other application!

Since I’ll admit, this was my dream place to work, I obviously took the job.

I can’t express enough how glad I am that this accident happened.  I have never worked at a place before where I am actually excited and happy to go into work.  Being able to feel this happiness again really REALLY helped me to find that spark I’ve been missing for so long.

All I’m trying to say with this post is even if the going gets rough, you would be surprised at how everything DOES eventually come together.

I remember thinking back when I was at my lowest point of every single aspect of my life.  Trying to pinpoint decisions that I could make that would bring things together.  Life just doesn’t work like this.  It’s the spontaneous setbacks and spring forwards that get us to where we need to be.

I’m not saying that once you feel like things finally feel right again that they’ll stay that way.  I still have days… or weeks that I slip.  Sometimes it takes a lot to get back up, but I always do, and every time I come back stronger.  Don’t we always?  Because hey, that’s life 🙂

4508732411_c8c6dc210f_z

3 thoughts on “Everything Happens for a Reason

  1. I really enjoyed reading this. I’m honestly going through one of these low points right now. I’m currently going through a tough break up, and whenever I start thinking about it too much I find myself in that mindset of “I can’t see this ever getting better.” My mood has been really erratic lately, and it’s tough trying to focus on things without my mind wandering. I don’t know if your situation was similar in the slightest, but I’m glad it has gotten better for you, and it’s comforting to know that it will (eventually, hopefully) get better.

    Thanks for this post, it got me to smile a little bit 🙂 and we love you at Panera, Kelly, but not as much as that one customer!

    • Actually a guy is pretty much what caused it all. It’s quite amazing how much impact one single person can have on you. So much to the point you don’t even care if you lose yourself if it means keeping them in your lives in some way. It takes a lot to find that final strength to really fully move on for yourself, but I promise you the independence is so worth it. There’s a whole separate person that you will get to explore and know. It just takes time. If you ever need to talk I love listening and helping… Especially because I’ve just gone through all that, which makes the difference. All too often I found people just didn’t understand… They’d say they did because they went through it years ago but naturally we forget the pain… As will you… Eventually 🙂

      I’m glad you liked it and I think you’re a bit mistaken… Allllll the customers love me 😀

  2. Pingback: A Fellow Bloggers Bliss | Serendipity

Leave a Reply

