Homemade Honey Roasted Peanuts

I absolutely love honey roasted peanuts.  Problem is, about 99% of my use for peanuts involves using regular dry roasted peanuts.  It’s only every once in a while at really random times that I want or need to use honey roasted peanuts.  When this happens, I either only need a few or I just don’t feel like going out to buy even more peanuts that I already have at home.  

Simple solution?  Make them myself. 

After doing some research on this, I found that it’s actually a lot easier than I thought it would be.  So much so that I now question why people would go out and potentially pay more for something they could easily make at home. 

Then again, I feel the same way about boxed cake mixes 🙂

For this particular version, you are going to need

    1. 2 cups of regular peanuts

     2. 2 tbsp honey

     3. 2 tbsp butter (salted or unsalted works… in this case I used salted)

     4. salt is optional depending on how you plan to have them

Image

Start off by melting the butter and the honey.  

This forms (and smells) like a caramel you would make over the stovetop.  I thought that was pretty cool.  

Preheat your oven to 350F, and toss the peanuts in your mixture.  

Spread them on a baking sheet, and bake for 5 minutes.  

After the five minutes is up, stir them around.

If you feel they need to be baked longer, put them back in for another few minutes.  Just be careful not to burn them.

I was happy with mine after the five minutes though. 

Image

Either set in the fridge or simply allow to cool as they are.  

The caramel-mix will harden as it cools.  

Sprinkle with salt if desired, and enjoy 🙂

Image

I will admit… they’re pretty amazing fresh out of the oven as well.  Just be very careful about burning yourself.  Believe me, they’re hot.

Question: What’s your favorite store bought flavor of peanuts?

If chocolate covered peanuts count those would be mine.  Hmm… I wonder if they ever made peanut butter covered peanuts… am I the only one who thinks that sounds really good?

3 thoughts on “Homemade Honey Roasted Peanuts

  1. Hey! Just wanted to say thank you for posting all these recipes 🙂
    I read this site everyday without fail haha. Keep it up!! x

  2. Pingback: Homemade Trader Joe’s Cookie Butter | Healthy Living Revelations

Leave a Reply

