Homemade Speculoos Cookies

Okay I’m going to give a bit of a disclaimer before I even get INTO what this is.

This technically is not healthy.  I have made absolutely no substitutions to make it better for you, and I am not about to.

Why?

Because I honestly believe that the key to living the healthiest lifestyle is to be able to have a wide variety of foods.  Including things “bad for you.”

Sometimes you just can’t replace the real thing.  Any baker will agree with me there is nothing like creaming butter and sugar.  I’m serious.  🙂

(Please answer question at bottom if you think I should or shouldn’t post more recipes like this)

Okay, that aside… a speculoos cookie… what is it?  Well for those of you who live near a Trader Joes, (lucky you) you have probably heard of its’ all famous cookie butter.

That features these cookies.

They remind me of the holidays due to the fact they use holiday spices.

If you’d like to read more about them, click here.

Since I have never made these cookies before, I had to use someone else’s recipe (which I normally would prefer not to do).

After some research, I chose this recipe.

You are going to need

1. 1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
2. 1/4 teaspoon salt
3. 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
4. 2 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
5. 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
6. 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
7. 7 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
8. 1/2 cup sugar
9. 1/2 (packed) cup light brown sugar
10. 1 large egg, at room temperature

Mix together the first 6 ingredients, and set aside.

In a mixer, cream the butter and sugars until they are a creamy texture.

Mix in the egg.

Slowly add in the dry ingredients until combined.

Image

Take the dough out, and form into a ball.  Wrap the ball, and refrigerate for 3 hours.  I only waited half an hour for the first half of my batch…. justtttt because I was using them for another recipe 🙂

When ready to use, roll out until about 1/8-1/4 inch thick.

Image

Cut out circles,

Imageand bake for 8-10 minutes at 350F.  They should be lightly golden brown around the edges.  I found that they’ll brown a little bit more and firm up after cooling.

Image

Enjoy!

Image

These things are seriously amazing.  As I said before, sometimes you just can’t beat the real thing, and hey if you’re going to have cookies… might as well make them homemade to stay away from unpronounceable additives 🙂

Question: Do you think I should post more recipes like this?  Or stick to just healthy variations of things.  Let me know!

3 thoughts on “Homemade Speculoos Cookies

  1. Pingback: Homemade Trader Joe’s Cookie Butter | Healthy Living Revelations

Leave a Reply

