The Army and Recipe for Mango Casein Protein Fluff

Before even getting into this post I just want to talk about something really quick.

That is the army.

Now, I know a lot of people that are going into the airforce, or the army, or the marines, or what have you, but recently I found out my sister is joining the army.

It’s one of those things that happens out of no where.  So quick, you don’t have time to process it.  I found out less than a month ago and she’s already leaving for bootcamp next month.

I know in my heart that this is what she needs to be doing and she’s going to be helping our country in ways I will never be able to.  At the same time though, she is my sister.  Even though we may not get along all the time, she means so much to me, and it’s still hard to wrap my mind around.

If anyone’s been through something similar, I would love to hear your story and what it’s like.  I have no idea what to expect from this, but I am hoping for the best.

Okay, back on topic.

This is actually a recipe I’ve perfected over the past few weeks… or months?  I’m not really sure… I lose track of time too easily haha.

It’s very important you measure everything, rather than just eyeball it.  Trust me, I’ve tried, and even though it’s still good, it ends up looking weird.

Also, be very patient with this recipe.  In general, I would say you should try to scrape down the bowl at least 3 times during the process, and total you should mix it for a good 15 minutes.

You are going to need

1. 1 cup frozen mango chunks

2. 1 scoop Optimum Nutrition Casein Protein Powder (I used a chocolate flavor)

Now in regards to brand, I’ve read a ton of reviews, and they all say Optimum Nutrition yields the best results.  I’ve also seen recipes using whey, but I have not tried it out myself.  Probably within the next week or two I’m going to, and I’ll let you know.

3. 1/4-1/3 cup almond milk or any other milk (Use 1/4 of a cup if you want a thicker fluff and 1/3 for lighter)

4. 1/8 tsp xanthan gum (this is optional, but it helps it to fluff even better)

Okay start off by blending your mango.

Image This took about 10-15 seconds in my vitamix on variable 10.  I’m not sure how long it’ll take in other blenders.

Transfer to a stand mixer along with the casein protein powder.  Mix together, and then add in the milk and xanthan gum.

This is where you’ll have to use your judgement.  Keep mixing and scraping as you think is needed.  As I said before, a good rule of thumb is to aim to scrap your bowl down 3 times.

When it’s all done, this is what it should look like

Image

Pretty cool right?

That’s how much one scoop of protein powder makes.

2 thoughts on “The Army and Recipe for Mango Casein Protein Fluff

  1. Pingback: Daily Blog- Day 2: About me | Healthy Living Revelations

  2. Pingback: Daily Blog- Day 8: Double Shifts, Reviews, and a Perfected Smoothie Recipe | Healthy Living Revelations

Leave a Reply

