Apple Cinnamon Quinoa

Yesterday was really weird for me.

It was one of those days where exhaustion hits you from out of nowhere.

Now, anyone that knows me knows that I can’t take naps.  I’ve tried before, but very very rarely will you ever find me falling asleep when I don’t want to.  I know that if this does happen it’s a really big deal.

This happened yesterday… but at the worst possible time.

I am currently taking an online class, and it went from 5:30 to 8:30 yesterday.  Not that bad right?

Well, at some point (i’m not really sure when) I fell asleep.  All I remember is my mom coming in at 8:30 and telling me to stay asleep.  I felt really delirious and weird, and I actually thought she was mad at me for sleeping through my class.

Turns out she wasn’t, and she had actually come in multiple times before that to try to wake me up, but I wouldn’t budge.  Again, very uncommon for me.

I still feel weird today, and I still don’t know what came over me.

Has this ever happened to anyone?

Okay now back on topic.  I made this recipe a few days ago to test it out.

Generally, I don’t like posting other peoples’ recipes, but I will still make them and document them just in case if I need a backup recipe for days I don’t come up with my own.

Obviously based on yesterday, today is now one of those days.

I actually found this recipe on Pinterest.  Now, I repin a lot of recipes, but for me to actually make one is a big deal.  I think this is the case for most people.

It is from And They Cooked Happily Ever After, and it really is an awesome recipe.

You are going to need

1. 1 cup cooked quinoa

2. 1 cup quick oats

3. 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

4. 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

5. 3 tablespoons brown sugar

6. 1 tablespoon granulated sugar

7. 1 tablespoon maple syrup

8. 1 cup chopped apples

9. 2 eggs, lightly beaten

I actually halved this recipe when I made it and still made a ton.

Preheat oven to 350F and mix the dry ingredients (first 6).

Image

Then mix the remaining in another bowl.

Combine the two

Image

and then spoon tablespoon sized bites into prepared mini muffin pans.

I lined mine with mini cupcake liners and then sprayed with cooking spray.

Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, and you’re done!

Image

I absolutely love this blog, and I definitely recommend checking it out.

2 thoughts on “Apple Cinnamon Quinoa

  1. Pingback: Daily Blog: Day 140: You’re Doing it Wrong… | Healthy Living Revelations

Leave a Reply

