Daily Blog- Day 8: Double Shifts, Reviews, and a Perfected Smoothie Recipe

Today is the first really gloomy day outside in awhile.  Normally, I wouldn’t be too psyched about this, but since I don’t have time to spend outside, I’m not minding it too much.

I worked for a few hours this morning, and I also work tonight.  Normal people would hate this, but honestly I love it.  It gives me the chance to go home and get my day stuff done and then once I’m done with everything, I get to work rather than lay around bored.  I hate being bored more than anything.  Is anyone else like this?

Once I got home from my first shift, I did my pilates, and then made myself lunch.  Along with lunch, I decided to try making my strawberry smoothie one last time.  The past few days I have been really trying to come up with the perfect recipe.

Today, I have it!!

For those of you who love smoothies so thick you can literally eat it with a spoon if you wanted, then this is the recipe for you.

If anyone has had protein fluff, it’s a lot like this just without the casein protein.

You are going to need

1. 7 hulled, fresh strawberries

Image

     2. a small handful of ice cubes (5-7)

3. 1 scoop whey protein powder

4. 1/4 cup coconut water (yes, only 1/4 cup)

5. 1 diced, frozen banana

6. just under 1/8 tsp xanthan gum

And that is all you will need.  No more liquid, no more sweeteners, no more nothing.  This is it.  I mean of course you can add more if you wantttt, but I like it this way best 🙂

Okay, so when I went for my bike ride the other day, I made this smoothie.

The problem was when I did it then, I just threw everything in the blender, turned it on the highest speed, and left.

When I came back, it was definitely all blended.

The problem was since I put everything in at once, it took more to blend it all, using more heat, and resulting in a smoothie that was… well warm… this is especially noticeable if you are using a vitamix that runs at 240 miles an hour!!

The solution to this is actually quite simple.  Blend slowly.

I still recommend using a high powered blender, but do not go about maybe the third or fourth variable.  Most of the time honestly, I was at the first.

In the end, this makes all the difference.

Start off by just putting in the first 4 ingredients.

Image

Blend until it looks something like this

Image

It should be pretty uniform, but not completely ready yet.

Add in your banana.

Blend for maybe 10 to 15 seconds, and add the xanthan gum

Image

It will still be really thick if you don’t use the xanthan gum, but it’s what really makes it amazing.  Again, like I’ve said in many other posts, you are only using a pinch at a time (less than 1/8 tsp!) this stuff lasts forever.

Keep blending

Image

When you’re totally done, you should be able to do this

Image

This smoothie makes me smile

Yes I’m a dork don’t judge 🙂

Pour into your glass

Image

and enjoy!

Image

You could even pour it into a bowl if you wanted and eat with a spoon IT’S THAT THICK!!

Okay so if you read my last post, you probably noticed that I got a new pomegranate jam to try out.

Image

I tried it straight from the jar, and I also incorporated it into my breakfast this morning.

I made overnight oats without greek yogurt, and added this and PB2 to make peanut butter and jelly overnight oats.

(if you want the recipe let me know).

It was a little to sweet for me to have straight, but I absolutely LOVED it with the oats.  My only complaint is that it didn’t taste like pomegranates at all.  It just reminded me of regular jelly.

I guess that isn’t a bad thing when I’m trying to make something taste like peanut butter and jelly 🙂

Okay off to getting ready for work again.  I pretty much got ready for bed when I got home without thinking, so now I have to get re-dressed.

I just can’t get myself to wear contacts or nice clothes when I can be wearing sweat pants and glasses 🙂

Question: Hm I can’t think of one… I guess I’ll keep it extremely simple… How’s your day going?  yeah that’ll work just fine 🙂

One thought on “Daily Blog- Day 8: Double Shifts, Reviews, and a Perfected Smoothie Recipe

Leave a Reply

